We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jeannie made you feel she was really glad to have you in her home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port au Choix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
357 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Jeannie made you feel she was really glad to have you in her home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Jeannie's home is lovely and is located in the beautiful picturesque town of Port au Choix.
We had a queen bed with private bath. The rooms were immaculate. There were also two rooms we could use for TV or for checking our email with her computer. Jeannie's (as were most of the bed and breakfasts we stayed at in August) was completely full the night we stayed. Jeannie supplied us with a map and gave us a very good idea of what spots we might want to explore in Port au Choix.

Jeannie recommended eating at Anchor Inn, and the meal, with fresh fish, was just wonderful. The dock area is very scenic with its fishing boats. The streets are really made for strolling.

The next morning, we were getting up VERY early to catch the early ferry to Labrador. Jeannie made sure we knew where the cereal, bread, jam, juice and muffins were so we could grab a quick continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again, given the opportunity.

We also enjoy

Room Tip: Go to Canada Parks Port au Choix Visitors' Center to see artifacts from the four types of native...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Jeannie's breakfast was delicious and included home-baked bread, muffins, and a selection of local jams. One of our group has a gluten allergy and that was handled very, very well. We had been so lucky to experience such great food all along the Northern Peninsula adventure (Viking Trail)!
Jeannie's B & B is a home away from home. Comfortable, squeaky clean! We fell in love right away with this B & B - just awesome in every respect! Each pair of rooms had a quiet area - just what we needed - a place to kick back, talk, laugh, plan, have a drink, check email and play cards after a long day of exploring and hiking and adventures!
We even got to do some laundry! Yahoo! minimal fee and clean clothes - just fabulous!
Thank you Jeannie! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slipstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights in total. Felt like home. Jeannie was amazing. It was the cleanest place we ever stayed in. The bathroom in particular was spotless, and the room was very large. Breakfasts were delicious and filling, including home-baked bread, muffins, and a selection of local jams.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddies39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We spent a night at Jeannie's Sunrise en route from Gros Morne National Park to Labrador. We were tired and hungry after having spent several hours climbing Gros Morne mountain and two more hours driving to Port au Choix. We were immediately made to feel home by Jeannie - she welcomed us like long lost friends. She said that her B&B was our home for the night, and she meant it. The accomodations were spotless and the breakfasts were great. If we are in Port au Choix again, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlovanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

This must be one of the best B&B's in Newfoundland. The welcome was warm, and it was the start of a perfect stay. Everything ticked the box for us here. A very pleasant and acomodating host, knowledgeable about the area, good beds, a nice washroom and an incredible breakfast. Also our daughter felt right at home.
we would not stay anywhere else in Port au Choix.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed there with my husband in July, 2011. Weather was miserable but the welcome was warm. Six rooms to rent & guests were encouraged to meet one another. Front door was not locked - no need - but room doors could be locked. Lovely place and very well organized. Room large & comfortable & breakfast excellent. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Jeannie was a wonderful host and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We were here only for one night, but managed to see the best parts of Port Aux Choix.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corrineandmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port au Choix
0.5 mi away
Sea Echo Motel
Sea Echo Motel
#1 of 1 in Port au Choix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast
Address: 84 Fisher Street | P.O. Box 189, Port au Choix, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port au Choix
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port au Choix
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Jeannie's Sunrise Bed & Breakfast Port Au Choix, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing