We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best places to eat in Newfoundland.”
Review of Anchor Cafe

Anchor Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the Best places to eat in Newfoundland.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

WOW is the best word to describe the food here. The seafood was incredible. If you have a teen that doesn't like seafood than definitely order the Viking Burger. The place is clean and the staff is very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ma1bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    53
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
S.S.M./N.Ont./Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meals , good value”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ate several meals @ the Anchor cafe over the 2 days @ Jeannie's in Port aux Choix - all excellent quality at a fair price & service was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank diamondlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had to Return for another meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our first lunch was so good we planned our return trip through Port au Choix so we could have lunch here again. On the first visit our group of four had cod sandwiches, a shrimp sandwich and fish and chips. Seafood was very fresh and perfectly prepared, fries were hand cut and not frozen, bread was house-baked. The second visit meal was steamed mussels and house salads, both excellent. Wait staff was very helpful and fun to deal with.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjl4825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Return Visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is not the first time we have dined at this restaurant, only lunch this time.
The lunch, cup of chowder, their own recipe, and a shrimp sandwich with home-baked whole wheat bread was, as expected, up to their normal standard of excellency,

What more can one say, their pricing is, we feel, reasonable and good value for money.
We were assured by the waitress. and the manageress. that all their seafood and vegetables are 'fresh' (the fish being kept 'iced' not just in a refrigerator). The shrimp in the sandwiches certainly tasted fresh and not previously frozen.
After the disaster yesterday evening at the Seaside Restaurant in Trout River we were extremely pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stop for a meal”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

With just two establishments in the area, we were not expecting the excellent quality of food and the lovely setting of the Anchor Cafe. The fish chowder was excellent, and the accompanying shrimp salad sandwich was just the match for it. The partridgeberry pie was fresh and delicious. We would recommend this to anyone looking for a meal en route to or from the National Historic Site.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchor Cafe also viewed

Port Saunders, Newfoundland
Port au Choix, Newfoundland
 

Been to Anchor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing