We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to recommend this restaurant.”

PJ Billington's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Marystown
Price range: $2 - $47
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing to recommend this restaurant.”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is overpriced and doesn't deliver. The food isn't terrible but it is just very ordinary. The servers were pleasant but more interested in chatting with each other than helping the very few people in the restaurant. The food came slowly. The food itself was not bad but it wasn't good either. If you are staying at the hotel, no car, can't walk... well, you won't get sick but you won't be thrilled either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you Frances4612 for your critique of our restaurant although sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience.

We strive to ensure our customers are happy with the quality of food we serve and the service we provide but it seems on occasion we fall short of some people’s expectations. We will however continue to do our very best to offer our customers a great culinary experience, a pleasant atmosphere and quality service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value for good food.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The service was good and the food was good. It was a pleasant surprise to have a menu with variety in an area with few choices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADBOCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst service ever!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Everything about our dining experience was terrible! We Had a reservation for Mother's Day brunch and to start off our table wasn't ready when we got there but that's was just the beginning. We placed our order and it took us 1 hour and 20 mins to get our food. The food was cold, toast not toasted at all and one of our party didn't even get their meal because the kitchen forgot to make it. The restaurant wasn't busy and the waiting staff were very unorganized. What a waste of money and it really put a damper on our Mother's Day celebration. If you are travelling to Marystown, stay away from pj Billingtons and go elsewhere to get a meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank X94bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
On Sunday May 12, 2013 we had to close our restaurant to regular business so we could accommodate all the reservations we had for Mother’s Day. Of the many people that were served only positive comments were verbally expressed to our knowledge and we regret to hear through Trip Advisor that it appears your party was treated differently than all the others. We are consulting with our staff, many of whom are Mother’s but worked to serve and prepare the meals on Mother’s Day, to ensure ALL customers get the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was okay but the amount of time we waited to be served and for our food was atrocious especially given that there were not many other people in the restaurant at the time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationer095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marystown, Canada
2 reviews
“bigt”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

food was excellent, table overlooked ville marie drive, quiet and had good service. 40 dinner for two...not bad at all

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterK431, Operations Manager at PJ Billington's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you bigt, it’s always great to hear customers are satisfied with all aspects of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ Billington's Restaurant also viewed

 
Marystown, Newfoundland
Marystown, Newfoundland
 
Marystown, Newfoundland
Marystown, Newfoundland
 

Been to PJ Billington's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing