We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History at its best”

L'Anse Aux Meadows National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“History at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This spectacular national heritage site features a reconstruction of the original Viking settlement in the New World, which predates Columbus by 500 years.
There are several walking trails which hug the shore and provide spectacular views around the park, and if you sit quietly, you might see one of the resident foxes or moose who dwell in the area.
The staff and exhibits in the main building are very helpful....and the actual lodges/buildings are most impressive...but the best part was seeing the archeaological evidence of the exploits of these Norsemen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    86
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a low key wonderful place at the very north of Newfoundland. The staff are very friendly, and informative. There are a few reconstructed buildings, with the grassy mounds that were excavated. Film and history inside .we went through in a couple hours, I don't know what I was expecting, probably more after watching the tourism commercials for years, but I still enjoyed it. We were late in the season, so not many recreators outside, but being there when almost deserted had charm. I would recommend this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I've heard about L'Anse aux Meadows all my life and always wanted to see it. National Historic Sites has done a great job.
There is so much to learn here that I recommend that people take full advantage of the audio visual, the guided tours and the staff "Vikings". All of these opportunities made us aware of things we would never have learned on our own. A real highlight.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KA_Travel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were glad that we took the tour. The guide was Clayton, a local very knowledgeable storyteller. The interpreters in the village buildings were excellent and made the place feel alive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LPJ-Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible vista and journey back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Once you drive up the hill, your vision embraces this spectacular bay, which enticed and brought so many fishermen of different origins to this well stoked fishing area so many centuries ago. The Vikings left their imprints and Parks Canada has made a phenomenal effort to make this site a most remarkable one. The displays are most informative, and a lot of them are interactive. The setting in itself is worth the drivel The walk to the actual village itself is well designed and makes the access to the house and authentic setting very easy to walk to even if you have a mobility problem.,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suttonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Anse Aux Meadows National Historic Site also viewed

L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to L'Anse Aux Meadows National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing