We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Go there if you want to see the ship

Norstead offers slightly other things than the National Historic Viking site - they have a nice... read more

Reviewed September 5, 2018
Heikki P
via mobile
More to see than the government site

This village is set up to give tourists an idea of the way of life in a beautiful setting by the... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
cdb15427
,
White Rock, Canada
Read all 207 reviews
  
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
91
69
32
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
69
32
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viking village national historic site unesco world heritage boat house different buildings blacksmith shop great hands long boat parks canada step back in time nice visit end of the season re enactment flatbread learn how guided tour trading post
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 200 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This village is set up to give tourists an idea of the way of life in a beautiful setting by the water. A hike up the hill provides an excellent view of the spectacular environment. We worth the price of admission. staff are welcoming and knowledgeable. It was the end of the season when we visited so were delighted that the site remained open.

Thank cdb15427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Why close in mid September when there are still lots of tourists around? We wandered around the site and had a look into some of the huts. You really should lock up.

Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Norstead is just down the road from the "official" government site and it is set up for tourists to enjoy a step back in time. The buildings are populated with locals who dress and play their part in this recreation. Very educational, very entertaining. An interesting glimpse into another time.

Thank Glenmorcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

This village was very well laid out and full of history. The employees take their jobs seriously and are extremely knowledgeably. I would highly recommend a visit to this attraction when visiting the area

Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Explore a Viking village and learn what it was like to live in 1000AD in L'Anse Meadows. An exciting and informative experience!

Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Norstead offers slightly other things than the National Historic Viking site - they have a nice replica ship and a church. On quiet days it is ... quiet there, but the guides keep you busy.

Thank Heikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

This village was a complete surprise to me. Very well laid out and full of history. The employees take their jobs seriously and are extremely knowledgeably. I highly recommend this attraction for everyone.

Thank Leightan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

To be honest, this village had very little to offer over L'anse aux Meadows Historic Site. We found the the staff to be far less knowledgeable than the staff at the historical site. The only reason I would not rate this lower is due to the replica viking ship "Snorri". We found it interesting to see and hear about this boat which gave us a better feeling on how the vikings crossed the Atlantic. If L'Anse Aux Meadows were to add a viking ship replica I would see little need to go to Norstead.

Thank JamesMark70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We went to National Park first with an amazing guided tour which meant that Norstead fell a little flat for us. It was a slow day so might have made it harder to have it more exciting. The people that worked there played the part and were friendly and informative. I would not have driven to L'Anse aux Meadows just for this. If in the area you should go though.

Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

I was told there were a lot of actors here on the site, where the "replica" Viking ship sailed from Greenland to L'Anse Aux Meadows. There were a few doing some knitting, and some to explain the boat, but there wasn't a lot of interaction, and the site was a little basic for me.

Some people were axe tossing, but that's not uncommon in Newfoundland, so it was a major fascinating things for me. All in all, probably not worth the time.

Thank Yellow_Mzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews