We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viking Village Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Haven Inn(St. Anthony)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quirpon Lighthouse Inn(Quirpon Island)
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
86
57
13
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
57
13
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshomemade jamssmall deckgrand viewgreat scenerynational historic sitefiltered waternice common areaspent nights hereliving roompot roastsharing storiestoastparks canadalaundry roomoverlooking the waterher husband
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 166 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying at the Viking Village was a highlight of our trip to Newfoundland. It was clean and comfortable; the breakfasts were tasty. The area is beautiful - we enjoyed gazing out the window at the gorgeous sunsets; we even saw an iceberg floating by at the end of July.

We were in the Norstead room, which is at the end of the hall (probably quieter), with a private deck overlooking the ocean. We could park our car right off of the deck and transport our luggage through the patio doors to save carrying them through the building.

You can tell the owner takes pride in her establishment; there is evidence of continuous upgrades (such as the decks); we understand she is in the process of installing TVs in all the rooms.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This B&B is very close to the L'Anse aux Meadows Viking settlement, as well as the Norseman restaurant (recommended). And it's only a short drive to St Anthony (boat trip for whales and icebergs also recommended). The rooms are a bit small and, as some people have mentioned, the walls are not noise-proof, but we had a very comfortable queen-sized bed. Be sure to ask for a room facing the ocean. Good breakfast cooked to order, with several local jams on offer. A short walk to the cove provides great views of eider ducks and whimbrels, if not icebergs. Note that the water in the B&B has a strong sulphur smell and taste, but is apparently safe to drink.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Torontoseniors-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited L'Anse aux Meadows in the third week of June. We were very fortunate as weather was excellent. Parked outside in the bay behind the B&B was a huge iceberg about the size of three aircraft carriers. Hard not to have a good impression of things. To get to L'Anse aux Meadows we traveled 1000 km from St. Johns by car. Our past experiences with travel have taught us that when you get to out of the way places you shouldn't be expecting the usual city conveniences. Instead you look for what the local community offers and judge accordingly. The community and government (Heritage site) have done a good job of developing a tourist destination that fits with the area. We enjoyed our time there and the travel was well worth it. The B&B was in keeping with this a comfortable place at night.

The room was a bit on the small side but very clean and comfortable and quiet. There is a large community livingroom area that is comfortable as well. The dining area felt more like a friendly kitchen than anything else. Take your shoes off at the front door was typical of NFLD B&B's and gave you a sense of being in someones home and not a hotel. Breakfasts were simple and excellent and we really enjoyed the home made jams and breads. You were given your choice of food and the time when you wanted it. Like most Newfoundlanders we met on our trip the staff were very engaging and knowledgeable about the area including the local Norse attractions. They also helped us with information on local restaurants and tours for ice bergs in St. Anthonys.

Room Tip: Get a room on the water side with views of the bay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Because we were a group of 11, we stayed at the Viking Nest, Thelma's home for 2 nights. Not many B&B's can comfortably accommodate that many and Thelma's delivered! The made to order breakfasts were delicious and we treated ourselves to her traditional dinner one evening. The 5 grandkids explored the nearby cove and we all hiked to the top of a stunning lookout. We even had a visit from the tooth fairy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Amazing view from our room of some icebergs all though they were small, we did see them. Room was small but adequate and it was quiet. Ask for an end room. Large common area where everyone gathers in the evenings and swap stories and adventures. Super breakfast served as per your order. Offer a meal in evening for extra charge. Heard it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room but book it early.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews