We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining room Staff rude”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the hotel after short notice which was wonderful with 2 small children. Wonderful front desk staff. Our experience in the dinig room the next morning wasn't as good. The staff were rude and not helpful. Not sure what was going on there but still grateful for the front desk staff that day/night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank labbyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We got in after midnight and were happy to get a room. Very basic hotel - room was clean, carpet had some weird spots here and there, bathroom looked really old... There is free internet (that's on the plus side). Housekeeping - no common sense AT ALL!. They start cleaning early in the morning, before 8 AM... Vacuums sound like there are snowmobiles right in the room - it is impossible to sleep if you do not have to get up with the sunrise... Advice - if you happen to stay here - get a room on the very far end of the hotel - you may get a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room in the far away part of the hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We spent two nights here in late June and found the hotel to be very clean and a convenient location for our sightseeing along Labrador Straits. The rooms are standard, but most importantly were clean which made us comfortable there. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant one morning and found it to be quite good.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Stayed at this location twice both for business and pleasure,very clean,comfortable and convenient location for a Labrador Visit..close to the ferry,has all the amenities for an enjoyable visit.Staff are friendly and helpful.ask for an oceanview..superb sunsets!!!A great base to do a day trip to Red Bay.Especially appreciated the Gideon Bible in the room in a somewhat remote area

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My sister and I stayed here for one night during a driving tour of Northern Newfoundland and the Labrador Straits in August. It is the only hotel / inn in the villages that make up the Straits, so there aren't many options here aside from a few B&Bs scattered throughout some of the other communities.

We skipped the restaurant, so can't comment on that, though the bar seemed rather boisterous around 10:30pm. Our room had a queen bed with fresh linens and the bathroom was clean, but overall it felt a bit run-down, with slightly threadbare carpet and drapes. There was also a funky smell in the room that air freshener could only temporarily mask.

Overall, it was a perfectly adequate resting place for one night, as it allowed us to get to the historic sites of Red Bay and L'Anse Amour, which were among the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cate72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Booked 3 hours before arrival. Got a housekeeping cottage. Easy drive from Ferrry. Satisfactory in every way. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Basic accommocations if you are spending a few days in Labrador. We took the ferry over from St Barbe, Newfoundland.

Overall, this hotel is clean and has all the basic features. Nothing elaborate. It is a good base for traveling up the coast to Red Bay, which can easily be done in a day.

I did not eat at the restaurant. The prices seemed a bit high. The next clsest restaurant is the next town over. All the bus tours ate in the hotel restaurant.

The Hotel has a washer and dryer available at the cottages across the street.

I did not notice an elevator in the hotel so we carried our luggage up the stairs.

Overall, a basic accommodation in a remote area.

2  Thank Likes_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Anse au Clair
5.9 mi away
The Florian Hotel
The Florian Hotel
#1 of 1 in Forteau
31 reviews
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
38 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: 56-58 Main Highway, L'Anse au Clair, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > L'Anse au Clair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Anse au Clair
Price Range: $113 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Light Inn is the largest hotel in southern Labrador with 70 rooms, 5 housekeeping units, and an RV site to cater to the traveling public. The hotel also houses a family-style restaurant, lounge, gift shop, and conference facilities. With quality service as the utmost priority, the Northern Light Inn is proud to offer clean, comfortable accommodations, along with delicious meals and friendly service. The Northern Light Inn is where Labrador begins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel l`Anse Au Clair
Northern Light Inn Labrador, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing