We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not disappoint”

Beach Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Holyrood
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Since the mid 1800’s, The Beach Cottage has been a familiar Holyrood landmark.Initially the building was designed as a hotel, and later got its current name in the mid 1920’s.It was the place for an afternoon outing, or a weekend in the country, accessible by vehicle or train. It was also a destination for vacationers and newlyweds.The neighborhood has changed. The Beach Cottage Restaurant has reopened to offer its patrons home cooked meals in a relaxed and comfortable setting in the style of 1866. The kettle’s on!We cater to private parties of 100 persons, or smaller groups in one or both of our dining rooms.
Baden, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will not disappoint”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food was great as was the service. We were there in September so the dining room was not too busy, which made for a very pleasant experience. Very good choices on the menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joannedCoboconk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John`s, NL
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Sunday Lunch!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Great to see this place open again!Nicely appointed dining room,great view of Holyrood Harbour.Menu offers lots of choices.We ordered the fish and chips and it was good!We plan to go back again to sample more of the menu items.A pleasant way to help spend a lovely sunny winter Sunday afternoon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank markie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Use your microwave”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Calamari was small and more batter than squid. The ribs were barely warm. The soup dujour was a meal in itself. The service was as good as any I've enjoyed. What really saved the evening was the solo guitarist.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2TsingTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyrood, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had lunch at the Beach Cottage on Sunday for my Mother's Birthday - not only was our meal HOT, it was delicious!!!! I would totally recommend this resturant to anyone! We live in the community and it will be a regular eat out place for us!! THANK YOU!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy457875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pearl, Canada
1 review
“This is a nice restaurant.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ate there tonight and was very pleased with our experience. Food was great, serving size perfect, atmosphere and view was very nice, and the staff was super friendly. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Holyrood, Newfoundland
Holyrood, Newfoundland
 

Been to Beach Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing