We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comerfords Suites
Nearby Hotels
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
A Schooner Inn(Holyrood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrolls Green(Holyrood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port O'call(Holyrood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
14
8
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
8
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewfull kitchenspacious unitconception bayunitshousenewfoundlandlaundry
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 29 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay here for a week and were pleasantly surprised to have a lovely main floor of a house.It was very comfortable and had all the amenities we needed.Pat and Agnes were very helpful and have a great manager (Rita) who will help you in any way she can.She will give you suggestions and directions to places of interest nearby and is always ready for an interesting "chat".Very glad we found this location.Thanks Pat ,Agnes and Rita.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnniejakeParrySound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We had not planned to stay in Holyrood at all during our cross-province trip of Newfoundland this summer, but a few days into our vacation, the island was being threatened with the remnants of Hurricane Bill. So we postponed our drive to the coast of the southern Avalon Peninsula and drove to Holyrood to be away from the worst of the storm. It was already late afternoon, and the B&Bs we called were booked, so we tried Comerfords.

Pat, the owner, was quite friendly and welcoming, and I have to admit that the price was very cheap. For only $89, we got a one bedroom efficiency unit. But we found that it was run down and definitely in need of a good renovation. Pictures of our unit (#6) can be found on Comerford's website, and it is as dated as it looks, including the bright yellow bathroom fixtures. Decor aside, the linoleum floors were peeling in spots, and the couch in the living room had definitely seen better days. Most of the floor was covered in old, ugly carpeting. The bed was saggy, and the linens looked like they had been bought in the 1980s from Wal-Mart.

So although not horrible, and despite Pat's hospitality, this was, to be honest, our least favourite place during our two-week long trip. We found much better value at the various B&Bs we stayed at, and there's absolutely no comparison between Comerfords and the beautiful Mountain Range Cottages in Rocky Harbour (Gros Morne).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Comerfords was a great place to stay the house we stayed in was spacicious and very clean . we had 3 bedrooms a nice big kitchen and very large living room. the staff was very frendly and helpfull. Pat the owner was so nice and could not do enough for us .
We are going back 2009/ aug.
Kathy & Martin Murphy

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathmurph19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We were looking for a cabin or efficiency within about 30 minutes of St. John's and Witless Bay when we found Comerford's listing in the Newfoundland and Labrador Tourism Department's guide. We made the "reservation" by phone as we were driving east on theTCH, and it was such a wonderful bit of luck.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaryAnne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at Comerfords in Holyrood,Newfoundland in August 2007..We would highly recommend these units for their very nice units and the friendliness of the owners.Mr. Comerford visited with us to just chat more than once and he helped with alot of info we were looking for......We enjoyed the spaciousness of the units and the coziness home feeling..........Would highly recommend .............Jeanne and Larry from Wisconsin............

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wisconsinsonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews