We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rose Manor Inn
Nearby Hotels
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Harbour Grace(Harbour Grace)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comerfords Suites(Holyrood)(Great Value!)
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crossroads Motel & Trailer Park(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capital Hotel(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada St. John's(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$96
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
160
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose roomamelia earhartdelicious sconeslocal artistseggs benedictfine linenstreated us like royaltyoff the chartsbaccalieu trailfine diningwonderful eveningbay windowlovely dining roomcharming hostsmurder mysteryking sizeenjoyed our visit
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 170 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ten days in eastern Nfld, and this was our nicest accommodation, yet still quite reasonable. We stayed 2 nights in a lovely room with a wonderful bed and bath. The manor is grand and quiet, which was nice, but almost a formal feeling. Lucy is a dear and a great cook! Breakfasts were plentiful and exquisitely prepared and served. And delicious too! Very few restaurant options in the area, so you might appreciate Lucy's talents for dinner as well. Kevin and Lucy are very amiable and attentive hosts. Great place to stay in the Avalon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I are travelling around Newfoundland for a week. After a long day of driving we found Rose Manor thru Google. We called, they had a room, and in we went. Right from the start Kevin and Lucy offered such a welcoming and open feeling. From the first impressions upon driving up the driveway to the good-bye the next morning, it was all 110%.

The setting is beautiful in a wonderfully restored Harbour Grace mansion, all of it the done by Kevin and Lucy. The attention to detail went beyond the main floor to the perfectly equipped rooms. Before we went out to dinner, my wife and I enjoyed a bottle of wine in the parlour looking out at the ocean and reading - the first time I had felt relaxed all week.

After we returned from a dinner out we spent another hour or so reading before retiring for the night. On both occasions we got a visit from Kevin. He wanted to make sure we were comfortable, and as well, he took the opportunity shared his stories of the years he was a child in the town and gave us such insightful information on the history of the area. He was so respectful of our desire to enjoy some quiet time and relax, and he never overstayed his welcome, always allowing us to simply enjoy the warm and inviting setting.

Breakfast the next day was off the charts. From the selection of juices and the home made blueberry muffins to the choice of hot and cold breakfast (we chose the Eggs Benedict), it was the best.

So look them up. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdmanof58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just spent 10 days touring Eastern Newfoundland and stayed only at bed and breakfast properties that were between 4 and 5 stars.
This was the most luxurious .
Stayed for 2 nights.
We were a group of 5 and occupied 3 rooms.
Everyone was amazed by the service provided. Breakfast was fantastic and had a huge assortment of options including vegetarian and gluten free food.Even the coffee was great.
The rooms were cozy and the beds spectacular .
High end bath toiletries and deep bath tubs are in all rooms.
The public spaces were abundant both inside and out.
The beautiful gardens are rare in Newfoundland.
We enjoyed coffee on the ocean front deck in the mornings and fine wine in the evenings.
Highly recommended..

Room Tip: We loved the Amelia room with king bed and ocean view . It was very quiet and had the luxury feel of a grand hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runner051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Rose Manor for 3 nights in early August 2013. We have stayed in many B&B over the years and overall we've enjoyed our stay with Lucy and Kevin the most! The room was beautiful and clean with a great view overlooking the water. The gardens and grounds are amazing with lots of private sitting areas. The food and hospitality were also exceptional. Rose Manor is in a great location for site seeing in the Avalon region. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Immediately when you arrive get a sense for things to come: gorgeous flower beds, circular driveway with clearly marked ample parking. Greeted with handshake from both hosts, how rare nowadays. Hosts: Lucy, a lovely Lady. Kevin, who helps bring luggage upstairs. Spacious room, A/C but also window to open. View to Ocean Inlet. Bottle of Water, little Chocolates, Iron board, plush bathrobes. Lovely, cozy bed with crisp snow white linens and Quilt. Pretty bathroom on the small side but nice layout, very good lighting to apply makeup. Super spacious newer shower stall, tiled all the way up incl the high ceiling; also liked the shower-head. Faucets etc spotless. Beside soaps and shampoos there's also a shower-cap and even body lotion! When you use the fluffy towels, take a deep breathe: they smell of a sommers' flower garden, but not overpowering, just right. Nice common areas, spectacular terrace seating, even benches on the ocean looking out to the Bay. Small flat screen TV. There's also coffee etc available to help yourself. Breakfast very delicious and generously portioned: an Italian egg omelet made with fresh vegetables and ham on the side, plenty of toast, two very fresh homemade scones, juice, jam and coffee or tea.All in all absolutely immaculate, with great sense for details. Will definitely make a point of returning, and book dinner then- Lucy loves to cook, and it shows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocea_nixe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews