We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Four of us stayed at George and Lynn's this September and couldn't have asked for more accommodating hosts.Our rooms were lovely, with ocean or garden views and full ensuites.Breakfasts were ample, varied and delicious.We booked ahead to have dinner during our stay and enjoyed a feast of salmon, fresh vegetables and a blueberry crumble.
Harbour Grace is a great jumping off place to explore the Avalon, and coming home to the Rothesay at the end off each day, was a delight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmoores29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
187
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fall River,Nova Scotia,Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wonderful historic B&B. Owners were very friendly and accomodating. Each room is unique with some lovely furnishings. Meals were outstanding with many home made choices including "beeless honey". We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to our friends and family.

Room Tip: All roomsunique and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebonylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights, wish it had been more. This beautiful historic home was decorated so beautifully. The parlor was a nice place to write in my travel journal in the morning before breakfast and later in the evenings. Lynn and George are wonderful hosts. George was a wealth of information about history of the area,places to see and places to eat. He also will help you plan an itinerary with a map to write your notes. The breakfasts were delicious, filling and wonderful. There is also an option of having dinner at the Inn. This dinner is a must because it was a delicious gourmet meal. It is a great way to converse with the other guests staying at the Inn. We really enjoyed the guests that were staying at the time we were there. One guest in particular was a wealth of information especially about the city of St. John's, a real character. There are many things to do and see in the area it was hard to choose. Our room was perfect and large enough for our luggage. The bed was so comfortable and had a wonderful nights sleep. They have two dogs, Maggie is the small dog that lives inside the house and O'Malley is a big friendly Newfoundland dog. It is a photographers paradise, so many places of interest it was hard to choose. Lynn and George really made you feel at home and part of the family. They were so welcoming. Lynn made her own bee-less honey and granola. delicious!!!This is a place not to miss and make it a part of your travel itinerary while in Newfoundland.The near by town of Brigus is a must see, so quaint and great photo ops. There is a nature park in Salmonier that is also a great place to visit and see the wildlife of Newfoundland. I can't say enough about this wonderful Inn...Thank you Lynn and George for a great stay.

Room Tip: Rothesay Room was perfect for us. All the rooms were beautiful. Two of the rooms had extra beds so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Rothesay House recently while travelling in Newfoundland. This beautiful historic house is elegantly decorated and lovely to be in. The hosts, George and Lynn, were very welcoming and hospitable. And the food was outstanding. In addition to breakfast, you are offered the possibility of dining at the Inn. We chose to do so one evening and had a memorable gourmet meal with other delighted guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreeneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We loved our stay at Rothesay House in August. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The home is lovely, and our breakfasts were delicious and substantial . George is a wealth of information about the area and can direct you to all the places of interest We met some interesting people at breakfast with lively conversations. Our only regret was that we were only staying two nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My Sister and I had the pleasure of staying 5 days in the lovely heritage Rothesay House B & B. This place has a lot of history behind it and George will do his best to talk with you about all of it if you ask him. There is nothing finer than having your morning coffee or evening glass of wine out on the front porch overlooking Harbour Grace. The owners George & Lynn will make you feel right at home and part of the family. Lynn will also cook up some fantastic breakfasts and dinners while you are there. If there is anything you need to know about the area or places you want to see while you are there George is your man to talk to. Ask him to doctor one of his maps for you, as you will find them very helpful. One of the places that I was happy and sad to visit close to town was the airstrip where Amelia Earhart and numerous other pilots took off from back in the day for their trans Atlantic fights. To me this place is part of aviation history I would think. When we arrived there we parked in a small lot with garbage everywhere, walked through a small opening in a fence, read a small plaque that is in need of cleaning or repair, and then gazed down a beautiful grass runway. The town or Government could do so much more with this place as it is I feel a spot in Aviation History. I know that you will enjoy your stay at the Rothesay House B & B . You will love to hear about the history of the house and area. You will enjoy using this place as your home base while visiting Newfoundland as it is close to a lot of wonderful areas and sights. And you will love trying all of Lynn's great breakfasts and dinners. Ask her about her homemade bee-less honey Mmmmm. Great Time, Great People, Great Place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had just traveled from London, England, on our first visit to Newfoundland. We arrived at Rothesay House to the warmest possible welcome from George and Lynn. Their home was to be our home! Lynn's dinner on the first night was delicious and creative and George was an amusing and attentive host. Our room (Rose of Torrage) was clean and comfortable with a view over the garden and bay. The house is decorated in a personal and homely style (very interesting compared to some other B&Bs which can perhaps be rather "clinical" and predictable). Lynn's breakfasts included her fabulous homemade granola and breads, as well as something tasty and interesting cooked. On our first morning George provided maps of the peninsula and gave us and other guests a very helpful "geography lesson" on places to visit on the Baccalieu Trail. Our hosts went out of their way to make our stay and visit to Newfoundland a wonderful experience, for example: helping to plan our ongoing journey, advising on where to stay and help with booking B&Bs; suggesting a place to eat on our second evening and calling ahead for us to ensure they stayed open until we got there; and offering tea to early risers! George is also a fountain of information about the history and heritage of The Rock (and of Rothesay House!). We stayed 2 nights and left as friends (and as friends of some of the other guests too!). Lynn and George: thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Grace
19.0 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
144 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
6.8 mi away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#1 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
39 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 34 Water Street | PO Box 577, Harbour Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Harbour Grace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Grace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star designated provincial heritage structure and nationally registered historic place. 1855 construction and authentic architecture. Excellent oceanfront views, English gardens and fine evening dining. Newfoundland dog (O'malley) on site. Seascape trails close by and personalized mini- touring itinaries provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast Harbour Grace, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing