We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricanes and Honeymoons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hurricanes and Honeymoons”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

On day 2 of our Newfoundland honeymoon, Hurricane Igor (Sept 2010) threw a wrench into our travel plans and landed us in the little town of Harbour Grace at the Rothesay House. Without notice, or hydro for that matter, George and Lynn welcomed us into their home, and made sure that we felt like family- not guests, offering to cook for us on the fire. Lynn is an exceptional chef, from peasoup by candlelight to her fabulous breakfasts of homemade honey and jams, we were overwhelmed by her care and attention to every detail. George is extremely knowledgeable, and ensured that we missed nothing on our day trips to and from the Rothesay house. We later found out that they had accomdated us on a weekend that they had planned to be closed to celebrate their anniversary. These two are truly an amazing pair, and we really can't thank them enough. We would highly recommend this beautiful B&B to anyone visiting Newfoundland, and look forward to visiting again someday.
~We must appologize for the late post, we had written one, but most have not have submitted properly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
187
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our visit to Harbour Grace and Rothesay House were the highlights of our visit to Newfoundland. Lynn and George are amazing hosts, the food was spectacular (make sure you make a dinner reservation) and the rooms are lovely. I knew we were in a special place as soon as we arrived - even the big Newfoundlander dog on the front porch gave us a warm, if wet, greeting. A "must stay" in Newfoundland and the best Mother's Day location if you are away from your own children!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great hosts, great location, great food any one of these makes for an excellent stay but all three in one location makes this the best place to stay if your not in St. John's

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you are planning a trip outside of St.John's to explore the towns and villages of this amazing province I'd highly recommend a stop by Rothesay House in Harbour Grace. The host team of George and Lynn set the bar very high in delivering the quintesential B&B experience. George provided expert travel advice and precise directions. He managed to get us into some spectacular areas to view huge icebergs and cliffs...a very thrilling experience. And Lynn's skill in the kitchen was astounding. Before arriving we had dinner at the two finest restaurant in St. John's and all of us felt Lynn's food was superior. Everything, from the honey to the warm bread was from scratch. Add this to the fact that these people are a whole lot of fun and you are guaranteed a memorable and enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Street side gets you a great harbour view but the garden on the back is also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast during the Easter weekend. Lovely and very welcoming. Great hosts. The breakfst granola is absolutley wonderful!! I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone needing a getaway for a night or more. Thank you again for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2012

After a few days of business in St. John's it was delightful to arrive at Rothesay House to be greeted by O'Malley and little Maggie on the front porch. George and Lynn had given us good directions to follow a picturesque route to their B & B.

We dined in style, enjoyed the view of the water and were given lots of tips on where to poke about.

Being an hour and a bit from the airport makes this an ideal spot to see some of Newfoundland's coastline and countryside without travelling too far.

Our stay was very comfortable with very good food and we recommend Rothesay House as a wonderful spot.

Jill

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bauline
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Always have a great time when we are there.Very welcoming couple George and Lyn.Always want to make your stay a great one.Love the manor and it is so beautifully decorated,and very cozy,Lyn is a great cook and George the perfect host.Excellent rate.

Room Tip: All rooms are family oriented.Two have a double (or queen,not sure)bed and an extra single bed or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Grace
19.0 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
144 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
George House Heritage Bed and Breakfast
6.8 mi away
The Spaniard's Room
The Spaniard's Room
#1 of 2 in Spaniard's Bay
39 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 34 Water Street | PO Box 577, Harbour Grace, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Harbour Grace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Grace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star designated provincial heritage structure and nationally registered historic place. 1855 construction and authentic architecture. Excellent oceanfront views, English gardens and fine evening dining. Newfoundland dog (O'malley) on site. Seascape trails close by and personalized mini- touring itinaries provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothesay House Heritage Inn Bed & Breakfast Harbour Grace, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing