We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forteau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grenfell Louie A. Hall
Ranked #1 of 2 Forteau B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is an incredible place! It is an old nurses station and a very historic location. It is like spending a night in a fabulous museum rather than just a B and B. having said that it is not at all 'stuffy'. It is beautifully decorated with a really comfortable room and a lovely bathroom and shower. The breakfast is lavish with home baking and a great selection of berry jams. Peggy is an amazing host and made a number of calls to help with our holiday plans and really came through with a lift to help us on our hike along the pioneer trail. I really feel I can not do justice to this very special place in a review. If you are visiting labrador you must experience it for yourself - it's a truly special place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLAHBB, Owner at Grenfell Louie A. Hall, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks! So happy to help you out and give you a ride after your hike on the pioneer foot trail. You were lucky and just missed the blackflies. Hope you had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here this past July, on my way up the Labrador coast. I could not believe how welcoming and warm this place made me feel, it was just like I was at home. I decided to stay again on my way back through, the owner was very helpful in suggesting places to stay and sites to visit on my next during to Lanse au Meadows and St. Anthony.
I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a welcoming stay at a historical place with lots to do and see in the area!!!! Loved it .

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mary Fowler room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great b&b. Clean, well-maintained, convenient to ferry. Very good breakfast. Bathrooms were shared, but that was fine, especially since we were the only ones there. Our young kids loved our room. My wife left her glasses there by accident and the proprietor not only emailed us about it, she called other hotels up the coast to try to track us down. Because we hadn't had any internet service, we found out about her lost glasses three days later from the owner of the Whaler in Red Bay when we checked in there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This B&B is located in the former Grenfell nursing station in Forteau Labradour. Rooms are clean, of adaquate size, and quiet at night. Peggy is an excellent host and can recommend a good restaurant (try the carabou rolladen) just up the street where bakeapple jam is produced for the world. A good place to stay on the way to Battle Harbour and Red Bay. Black flies may be a problem outside in the summer so best to bring bug jackets. Bathrooms are shared but this has never been a problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecchio Emilia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

What a charming place!
Do not expect a modern, fully equipped B&B (e.g., two bathrooms are shared among the rooms): but, instead, a living memory of past Labrador, a place full of atmosphere.
We were alone in the house for two nights out of three, and what a lovely experience! Reading old books about the history of the Grenfell mission in the living room, closing our eyes to imagine the nurses doing their hard job in the (almost untouched) rooms of the house...
It's a difficult feeling to share: you have to go, and try.
The landlady is nice, she has collected all the material you see in the house, to preserve the memory of the old nursery. Breakfast was "continental", but rich in fruits and home-made jams.
A unique place, I am glad I didn't miss during our stay in Labrador.

Room Tip: Mary Taylor room seemed to us the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoBe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our adventure to Labrador was quite an experience.
We took the ferry from St. Barbe to Porte de Blanc (which actually arrives in Quebec). That in itself is quite the experience. We then drove along the coast of Labrador in the fog and rain through rugged country of scrub brush and rock, a real sense of Canadian venturing into the life of Viking and Pioneers. Did not know that one does not go to Labrador in July or August. BEWARE BLACK FLIES IN JULY & AUGUST. Not like we have in Ontario. These are everywhere and overbearing at this time of the year. Otherwise a delightful place with kind generous folk that yearn for cooler weather (no Black flies)

The Grenfell Louie A. Hall is a wonderful historic building in Fourteau, built as a nursing station to serve the community. The founder, Dr. Grenfell was a medical doctor from the UK who came to Newfoundland and Labrador and helped the people in the area organise rights for fisherman and workers and establish communities along the coast of Labrador.

The Grenfell A. Louie Hall is owned and operated by the original family that donated the land to Dr. Grenfell to build the out post nursing station. The home was once a nursing station that served the Forteau area. The owner Peggy and her husband Dwight were both born in this nursing station. Peggy’s daughter was also born here.
Grenfell Hall is a superb historic site filled with history and antiques reflected of its time. Peggy has meticulously documented the history with photos and memorabilia throughout her home.

When we arrived Peggy & Dwight were out fishing with her family for salmon…their group was ousted by a black bear. (But not before they caught some fish)

Early morning brought us fishermen tending to their traps and a lovely sunrise over the misty foggy hills and bay

Lovely place to stay. Very rustic, lots of history. Very friendly people.
B&B was very clean. Our room was quite. Shared bathroom .. But no concerns... breakfast was self serve (only because we were up early to and on the road at 6:30 a.m.)

A Must see... check out the "Out Back Lounge" in the local restaurant in town … a definite highlight.. Friendly, rustic, cold beer and darts...Memories of Kenora, Ontario circa 1969

The ferry ride back was awesome … icebergs. Porpoises... Lots of fresh air, sunshine and coffee.. not to mention smooth sailing awesome

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Beautiful and historic, a great place for kids. I real find in an isolated part of the world. Former hospital, the rooms were clean and breakfast was very good. There are 2 bathrooms whoever they are shared among the guests. Nice view of the bay and a very short walk to the village wharf. Would stay again if travelling to the labrador Straits.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forteau
11.2 mi away
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
Four Seasons Inn & Motel
#1 of 2 in Blanc-Sablon
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in St Barbe
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Florian Hotel
The Florian Hotel
#1 of 1 in Forteau
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenfell Louie A. Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenfell Louie A. Hall

Property: Grenfell Louie A. Hall
Address: 3 Willow Ave. | P.O. Box 137, Forteau, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > Forteau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forteau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grenfell Louie A Hall Bed Breakfast has been in operation since 1994. Previously owned by the International Grenfell Association and operated as a Nursing Station in Labrador until 1983 then as a staff residence until 1993. Over 3 generations of people was born at this establishment when it was in operation as a Nursing Station including my husband and myself. While in Labrador come stay with us and read our history of Labrador and the Grenfell Nursing Station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grenfell Louie A. Hall Forteau, Labrador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing