We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servers are great under pressure”
Review of Jungle Jims

Jungle Jims
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Deer Lake
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bonavista, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Servers are great under pressure”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate there 2 times for supper on consecutive nights, and both nights the place was full with a lineup for tables. We didn't have to wait, though, as we arrived early (5PM) and got ahead of the rush. Despite the crowd, the servers really rushed and didn't keep anyone waiting long at all. They were constantly bombarded by requests from patrons, but they somehow managed to excel under pressure and offered excellent service and pleasant smiles :)
I was also pleased with the great selection of items on their gluten-free menu, as well as many great kid-friendly menu choices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    33
    32
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a place off the highway in Deer Lake Town”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Asked where in Deer Lake you could get a steak rather that fast food take out. Referred here but the dining room was full so we were given a table in the downstairs bar where the food is the same and was quite alright. Several patrons at the gambling machines added entertainment. Service was friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots to eat.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a good place to eat if you are hungry - the servings are big. The Greek salad was very tasty but had too much feta cheese for my liking. Reasonable prices and good service in a very popular, busy restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tumbleweed17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Good value for money but typical fast food place. Staff very friendly and service was fast.It was wing night so restaurant was very busy

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tomalty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went in to eat and was told we couldn't have a booth because it was closed for cleaning that was bad enough but when she came out with the wings they were dried up maybe because they were made 6 or 8 hours earlier when I mentioned it to the waitress she said oh well were not putting on another batch so either have those or you can get your money back I'll never go there again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newfieguy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Jims also viewed

Deer Lake, Newfoundland
 
Deer Lake, Newfoundland
 
Deer Lake, Newfoundland
 

Been to Jungle Jims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing