We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the Best Place to Stay in Deer Lake!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deer Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria BC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Place to Stay in Deer Lake!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is truly a great B&B. Margaret, the owner, is wonderful and very friendly; every room has its own private washroom with shower, and there is also a separate shared washroom with a bathtub. I was in room #!, which has a private entrance, and friends stayed in rooms #3 and #4. We were all very comfortable in our accommodations. There's a pleasant shared deck overlooking the lake and a common room to hang out and watch TV (though there are also TVs in the rooms, at least there was in mine). Margaret's breakfasts are wonderful and she's very accommodating with special food requirements. There's not a whole lot to the town itself -- though there is a great Insectarium and Butterfly Garden there -- but Deer Lake is a convenient spot owing to its international airport and its proximity to Gros Morne National Park.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 3 and 4 have queen beds, 2 has a double, and 5 has two singles. Room 1 has a private entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived at Margaret's after a long car ride from St. John's . Clean and comfortable rooms and outside deck was the perfect place to drink our bottle of vino:). After a great nights sleep- could smell the bacon-:)- good breakfast served with a smile...would recommend to anyone. Susie K. - Burlington, WI- U.S.A.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at this B and B in August for one night. The room was modest in size with its own washroom. Everything was clean and neat around the room and the home in general. There was a spacious common area with tv., reading material, etc. and a good view of the lake. The breakfast was great, tasty and lots... Besides the eggs, toast, etc. there's Margaret's freshly baked tea biscuits. Would definitely stay there again. You'll find Margaret has lots of info about the local area, is very friendly and will make you feel at home away from home...we left with two tea biscuits for the road! Enjoyed them with a Tim's coffee down by the lake later in the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had room #1 which had an ensuite bathroom and two entrances -- one to the outside and one to the hall of the house. Others have said that the rooms were small. We have stayed in a lots B and B's and, while this room wasn't huge, it was a certainly bigger than many B and B rooms we have stayed in. There was more than enough free space to walk around the room and to put all our stuff. The same applies to the bathroom which had a walk in shower.

I loved the bed. It is the most comfortable bed we have had on this trip. I especially liked the bed because it was high. I felt like I was sleeping in my own bed. There was a beautiful living room where we sat at night and read and then chatted with Margaret, the very nice owner. In the morning we had breakfast in the a very pleasant dining room which overlooked the deck and the yard.

Lakeview B and B was located on a side street so it was very quiet. We walked to Jungle Jim's for supper --about a ten minute walk. On the way back we went into a supermarket. There was a Lawton drug store across the street from the supermarket. A few doors up from the market we went into an ice cream parlor which was very good. It closes on Labor Day.

We had a very enjoyable and comfortable night's stay. I appreciated Margaret's giving me ice both at night and in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights with Margaret and loved our stay. Way more than we expected for Deer Lake. We were greeted by Margaret who made us feel at home. The place is super clean and the rooms are smaller but comfortable. There is a common area where you can relax and enjoy a cold beverage with the other guests. Breakfast was fantastic and a highlight of our stay. For comfort and value this ranks as one of the best for us. I would highly recommend staying at Lakeview. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure to enjoy the deck and common area with a big screen TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were fortunate to get a room with Margaret. You get a small clean and comfortable room with an ensuite bathroom, and a tv. A large common area for dining and another living room with a bigger flat screen tv. Also a large outside patio common area. Margaret is one of those wonderful folks who are genuinely helpful and caring and will be quick to help with advice for the rest of your trip. SAFE-CLEAN-CONVENIENT-FRIENDLY-REASONABLE PRICING If you are surfing reviews that is likely what you are looking for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhhzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonavista, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rooms have great decor, are spotlessly clean and well-maintained, and very comfortable beds you will not want to leave to start your day! The hostess is friendly, takes care of you like she would her own children, and has such great stories to share along with her knowledge of the local area (it's her hometown).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
10 reviews
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lakeview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Young's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 2K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Lakeview Bed And Breakfast Deer Lake, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing