We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 3 different times as we criss-crossed the province during our 2 week Newfoundland vacation and had a great experience all 3 times. We stayed here our first night after coming into Port aux Basques, on our way back from St. John's for an overnight on our way up to St. Anthony and as a home base at the end of our trip for 3 days to explore Gros Morne. There are hotels in Port aux Basques and hotels closer to Gros Morne but we stayed for free using points all 3 times and are so glad we did because of what a great place this is. (And a very reasonable amount of points for each stay) Everyone at the reception desk is super friendly. They exchanged dollars for loonies to do laundry and even let us know that they had free DVD players behind the desk if we wanted to use one. We stayed in the family suite each time which was perfect for our family of 5. It has a king bed, pull out sofa and bunk beds. The hotel has a large breakfast / lounge area with lots of family board games stored by the big tv that guests are free to use. The breakfast wasn't as good as a Hampton or Fairfield Inn breakfast but you could easily get filled up if you aren't picky. There were a few mornings that the eggs were ruined by covering every square inch of the folded omelets with onions and red peppers but there were lots of other options and a very attentive staff. The pool was closed for repairs during our stays but we were called a month ahead of time to tell us about the closure which we appreciated, and were offered the option of being able to swim at a local pool nearby. One minor negative thing was that the tv by the bunk bed had very limited channels and poor reception. I'm not sure why this is the case when the large tv for the room 2 feet away had great reception and lots of tv channel choices. We used the laundry while there but they only have 1 washer and 1 dryer so come early. The hotel is roughly an hour from Gros Morne - we didn't mind the scenic drive there and back every day so this was a perfect place as a home base. There are fast food restaurants (Tim's, Pizza Delight, Subway, Burger King, KFC) gas stations and a grocery store super close by. And in closing I must say - this hotel had the most comfortable bed out of the numerous hotels that we stayed at during our trip through New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Labrador and St. Pierre & Miquelon! If we ever make it back to beautiful Newfoundland we'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelBug05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

New, clean, comfortable. Our son loved the water slide. Close to and easy to get to airport. Good place to start/end your trip to Gros Morne National Park. Stayed 2 separate nights, one planned, other last minute add on. Only criticism is that we were charged the standard $10 extra for a rollaway cot to accommodate our son as the only room we could get for our second night had a king bed only. I thought they would waive this charge since there was a planned power outage for the next morning so we needed to shower by flashlight, son couldn't use the pool, and there were limited breakfast offerings. We would stay there again and do recommend but just thought that was a bit cheap of them considering the bed was simply rolled across the hall to our room and we made it up ourselves and packed it up nicely when we left.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank c_recoskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a nice pool. The slide in the pool is something the kids love. The breakfast is awesome as well! It is very close to the insectarium and Rocky Harbour is a great day trip. The Marble Zip tours is close as well.

Room Tip: If you are going to Marble Zip tours, you can get 10% off when you book at this hotel. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pcousins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

On a quick pass through Deer Lake on our way from Ottawa to Twillingate we arrived really late (1:20 AM) and left around noon. Our time there was fantastic. The room was large (one Queen-sized and a bunk bed), clean, and well-equipped (fridge, microwave, plates etc.). The free breakfast was varied and all items (bacon, eggs, milk, juice, cereal, pancakes and all kinds of bread) were constantly restocked. The people we interacted with at the desk, during breakfast and those cleaning the rooms were sincerely friendly. Overall, this hotel was great. One thing I would avoid is the rooms close to or over the front entrance. It gets noisy when people start moving on.

Room Tip: Stay away from the centre of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom_Conklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a new hotel and is very well maintained. From the moment you walked in it smelled fresh and clean. Our room was large, again fresh and clean. The beds were comfortable and the linens soft and clean. You're noticing a tread here. Wifi and the TV both worked well. The laundry facility was very handy and we were happy to have it available. Breakfast was good and kept stocked and any spills cleaned immediately. I especially enjoyed looking at all the original artwork on the walls that was for sale. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Always a great place to stay; rooms very well appointed; free-wifi, clean and very comfortable. Great pool with water slide. Excellent breakfast included. Ideal location to visit Gros Morne Park, good access to trails; both summer and winter sports.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is new (opened in 2012), so how anyone can say it is dated is beyond me. It is exactly like every other Holiday Inn Express. The front desk staff are courteous as are the people in the breakfast room. Rooms were clean, but a little tight in a two-bedded room. The guest laundry is a plus (although it is just one washer and dryer).We had no problem with noise - yes, you could hear the people above us walking around, but you will generally hear the floor boards above in every multi-level facility. It is expensive, but there are few choices in Deer Lake.

Room Tip: You will hear the people above you, so I'd recommend the top floor (there is an elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
70 reviews
23.9 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
16 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range: $125 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing