We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here on my way to Winnipeg and when I returned home. I was very impressed with the girls at the desk and the prompt way they handled my requests while I was there. I had to move rooms the first night, as the guests on my floor were very noisy, The gal at the desk di not skip a beat, as she helped me move so I could rest. The rooms are very clean. My car was very safe and well taken care of while I was away for the 10 days. All the staff were engaging and helpful, and friendly. Very nice breakfast, as well, when I awoke the morning of my return trip from Winnipeg.

Room Tip: Just check to make sure you have a quiet room if you are getting up early, to go to the airport for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you Linda B for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake...comfort and security are always top of mind with our staff and it seems they did a great job!!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is very easy to find, very close to the Trans-Canada highway and to the Deer Lake airport. Check-in was simple; there were no issues with our web reservation and our room was ready as soon as we arrived. There is ample free parking. The hotel was recently built and it shows since everything is modern and in good condition.

Our room was large and very clean, with a good size bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable and there were no noise issues. Two things bothered us: there was no fan in the bathroom and there was no soap dish so we had to leave the wet bar soap on the bathroom counter. Nothing major, though. The complimentary breakfast was ample and delicious, with both hot and cold selections. We did not use the fitness centre and the indoor pool was closed for maintenance but seemed quite large.

Check-out was a breeze, with our invoice slipped under the door overnight. Overall, I would say this hotel is an excellent choice in the Deer Lake area or as a starting point for a journey up the Viking trail.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudriveraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake, conveniently located just off the highway. Guests always rave about our clean spacious rooms and extra amenities especially the free hot breakfast and pool hot tub and water slide reopening soon. Our bathrooms are actually are equipped with a central air system which is extremely quiet..so much better than those annoying noisy fans. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

rooms are big and comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful. They called us 10 days before our reservation to tell us the pool would not be open when we were there and to see if we wanted to change hotels. Nice touch

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you Linda B for you positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake...our guests comfort and security are always top of mind with our staff and from your positive review I think our staff did an exceptional job. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A hotel of this qquality is not what you expect in a small town like deer Lake. It provided the perfect first night in our west coast tour of the island. Even with a 1:30 AM arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, our room was ready and we were asked if we wanted late check out!
They offer a good hot breakfast, have a nice work out facilty and pool. Close to the Deer Lake airport and all the routes to Gros Morne.
Not many restaurants in the area so be prepared, unless fast food is your thing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you acedaddy for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake...and so glad we were able to start your west coast trip off on a good note. With all our great amenities including the pool, fitness center, free hot breakfast and Wi fi and close to the Airport it is indeed the perfect place to stay to when visiting Gros Morne National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My family and I stopped here for just one night and we had a fantastic time. The front desk staff were very friendly, the kids loved to pool, and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Beds were very comfortable. We stopped here on the drive to the ferry and would do so again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you Lynn R for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake. Many of our guests like you rave about the comfortable beds, friendly staff free hot breakfast and yes the pool, hot tub and water slide are such a treat when traveling with kids. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fairly new and nicely decorated. They have a hot breakfast on site so that's a plus. The room was supposed to be suitable for 4 people but there was only 1 chair in the room. Overall we had a comfortable stay but given the location, it's definitely overpriced.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank KentOliverBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear kentdacanuck,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the condition of our facilities and the breakfast you had. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We did not enjoy our stay at this hotel. So much so in fact that I felt I had to write this review.
Our room was not available to check into until almost 4 hours after the check in time. The front desk staff was unhelpful and totally unaccommodating and lacking compassion for a family traveling with 3 small children.
The hot tub was closed and the pool was ok. The change rooms next to the pool were deplorable - and since our room was not ready, we were advised to change there and "take advantage" of the "pool facilities".
We got a whole lot of excuses and a 10% discount when we complained which we felt wholly inadequate.
I did get a follow up call after I filled out the survey they sent to me. She again told me about how we came at a very busy time, perhaps too many people had late check outs etc. She provided me with points enough for an overnight stay. It will definitely not be at that holiday inn location.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Nadine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hi Nadine M
Thank you for your comments regarding your resent stay. As you can see from our many positive guest reviews your stay was an exception and not the norm. We value all of our guest comments and have taken steps to ensure all our guests stays are more than memorable. Please consider us again when traveling through Deer Lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.9 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
16 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range: $118 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing