We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
224
167
55
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
167
55
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk bunk beds nice pool hot tub gros morne national park great hotel cold breakfast free breakfast family suite swimming pool top floor cinnamon buns close to the airport transcanada highway rocky harbour western newfoundland an early flight
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 457 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is very easy to find, very close to the Trans-Canada highway and to the Deer Lake airport. Check-in was simple; there were no issues with our web reservation and our room was ready as soon as we arrived. There is ample free parking. The hotel was recently built and it shows since everything is modern and in good condition.

Our room was large and very clean, with a good size bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable and there were no noise issues. Two things bothered us: there was no fan in the bathroom and there was no soap dish so we had to leave the wet bar soap on the bathroom counter. Nothing major, though. The complimentary breakfast was ample and delicious, with both hot and cold selections. We did not use the fitness centre and the indoor pool was closed for maintenance but seemed quite large.

Check-out was a breeze, with our invoice slipped under the door overnight. Overall, I would say this hotel is an excellent choice in the Deer Lake area or as a starting point for a journey up the Viking trail.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudriveraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake, conveniently located just off the highway. Guests always rave about our clean spacious rooms and extra amenities especially the free hot breakfast and pool hot tub and water slide reopening soon. Our bathrooms are actually are equipped with a central air system which is extremely quiet..so much better than those annoying noisy fans. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

rooms are big and comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful. They called us 10 days before our reservation to tell us the pool would not be open when we were there and to see if we wanted to change hotels. Nice touch

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFE1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you Linda B for you positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake...our guests comfort and security are always top of mind with our staff and from your positive review I think our staff did an exceptional job. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A hotel of this qquality is not what you expect in a small town like deer Lake. It provided the perfect first night in our west coast tour of the island. Even with a 1:30 AM arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, our room was ready and we were asked if we wanted late check out!
They offer a good hot breakfast, have a nice work out facilty and pool. Close to the Deer Lake airport and all the routes to Gros Morne.
Not many restaurants in the area so be prepared, unless fast food is your thing.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you acedaddy for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake...and so glad we were able to start your west coast trip off on a good note. With all our great amenities including the pool, fitness center, free hot breakfast and Wi fi and close to the Airport it is indeed the perfect place to stay to when visiting Gros Morne National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My family and I stopped here for just one night and we had a fantastic time. The front desk staff were very friendly, the kids loved to pool, and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Beds were very comfortable. We stopped here on the drive to the ferry and would do so again.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you Lynn R for your positive review of our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake. Many of our guests like you rave about the comfortable beds, friendly staff free hot breakfast and yes the pool, hot tub and water slide are such a treat when traveling with kids. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fairly new and nicely decorated. They have a hot breakfast on site so that's a plus. The room was supposed to be suitable for 4 people but there was only 1 chair in the room. Overall we had a comfortable stay but given the location, it's definitely overpriced.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank KentOliverBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear kentdacanuck,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the condition of our facilities and the breakfast you had. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews