We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was pretty much adequate, but definitely not worth the high rate which was charge ($145/night + tax). Only accepted that rate because there's nothing else near the Deer Lake Airport and I had an early flight.

I requested a coffee mug to use in my room instead of disposibles and was told that they didn't have any on-site at all (a glaring oversight). In the morning, the woman managing breakfast happily provided me with one and said that the front desk should have been able to do the same the night before.

Otherwise, there was nothing wrong with the hotel - it just wasn't exceptional enough to warrant the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear v c,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our service level. Regarding our rates, we always ensure to remain competitive in the area, I am sorry if you found our rates to be high.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 403 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a lovely new hotel in Deer Lake. The room was clean and quiet. Free internet and a free hot breakfast were included. I arrived very early in the morning, just after midnight. I was checked in quickly and on my way to the room in a timely manner. The room was a bit pricey ($169), but it was close to the airport and it was easy to get to Corner Brook the next day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a 4 am wake -up to catch our flight in the morning. The property is brand new, spotless, super comfortable, staff great, all you could want.......We tried going to be early (9:30) and then the fun began. Upstairs neighbours walking off and on all night, sounded like a herd of reindeer. People in halls talking loud, even after midnight. We were across from the guest Laundromat, which was open all night, try sleeping to the sound of a tumbling dryer! Should be closed at maybe 10 pm?? Needless to say, we were awake most of the night, should have called reception.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay anywhere near the guest laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammyofTriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The check in is easy. Free continental breakfast. Pool and exercise room are convenient. Rooms are quite spacious and well outfitted with fridge and microwave. Free WIFI is a bonus.
Only drawback is that direction signs are quite small coming off Trans Canada Highway making it difficult to find entrance road to hotel, if not familiar with the area, especially at night.

Room Tip: Try to stay on main floor - fewer rooms and not as much noise from late arriving guests (majority of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2thdk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake. Many of our guests like you enjoy our close proximity to the Deer Lake Regional Airport. It seems you had the opportunity to enjoy all our hotel features while traveling including the convenient check-in, free hot breakfast, pool, hot tub, waterslide,fitness center and free Wi-Fi. I apologize if you had a little difficulty locating us...we are working on finding signage solutions that are permitted within the town and will ensure we include GSP coordinates in email confirmations for those travelers equipped with this device. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice clean hotel well maintained great for the kids if your stoping before the trek across the provence or coming out of two weeks tenting it Gros Mourne. The pool was a ton of fun and the isectarium is not far way.

Room Tip: if you have kids get the room with bunk beds, the kids loved it, and so did mom and dad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrinw888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently had my wedding in Deer Lake at the holiday inn express. The manager who helped us with our planning was absolutely amazing, however front desk service was horrible on several accounts. There was four bridesmaids plus family getting ready in our hotel suite throughout the day, our suite was very nice, however that evening we were out of toilet paper and when we went to ask staff at front desk for more toilet paper we were questioned on where all the toilet paper went...which is just ridiculous really, it is toilet paper and is a necessity. We were told my stepfather would have a room on the first floor because he has parkinsons disease and cannot walk very far, so we booked a handicap room on the first floor. When we got there they had him put on the fourth floor...at the very farthest room from the elevator down the hallway. Needless to say we were not impressed. The breakfast was good. We were also supposed to have family and bridal party attending the wedding on the first floor above the banquet room, one so they would all be together and another for the noise from the music. That did not happen either, they were all spread out from the second floor to the third floor and we were asked to turn down the music on three seperate occasions because the guests above were complaining. I would definetely recommend the hotel for a wedding but to make sure all your requests are met beforehand. I loved our suite, and we enjoyed our wedding overall, but were really not impressed with the staff at front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Close to the airport. Had a great free breakfast...(don't forget to tip the ladies..they worked very hard to feed you for free). Beds were comfy, room clean. Has a nice exercise room and pool. A bit noisy with thin walls and heavy slamming doors. Lots of parking.

Room Tip: Take a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.9 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
16 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range: $116 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing