We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had issues but they came through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked a nice large room as it was the same price as standard room. Was a very nice room on the second floor. A bus tour arrived just after us but since we were all 50 plus, we did not expect any problems. A wedding reception was held down 1 floor which is just fine but at 8pm the dj started. We could hear the words of the music clearly. Called down at 10 and was informed it was to last til 2 am. MMM not good. No other rooms available. The music volumn did go down after our call. Was not the quietest night but a good discount was had by us.
If you book book upper floor to avoid this issue.
Overpriced hotel but only game in town. Know they have us tourists.

Room Tip: Book upper floor to avoid noise downstairs. Wood frame construction. Sound travels well here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear outandabout4u,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I humbly extend an apology for the noise you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 391 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Quite new HI that seems a little larger than is typical for the chain. The hotel is well kept (although I believe its quite new) with all the bells and whistles that the hotels of this vintage have. Pool with waterslide and hot tub was popular with the younger crowd. The rooms were good sized and the beds were comfy.
The price was more than I typically pay for this chain but there does not seem to be much competition at this time for this hotel.
This is a great place to stay if you have a flight out of Deer Lake or want to make a quick trip to Gros Morne national park.

Room Tip: Main floor is your best bet as the elevators are slow. Stairs are your best bet unless you are haul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you Travellfar for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Deer Lake. We are so glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, pool, waterslide and hot tub. Many of our guests like you enjoy the convenient location to the Deer Lake Regional Airport and its proximity to Gros Morne National Park. Although the price may have been a little more than you had expected to pay it is peak season and demand is quite high to visit this fantastic area. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night as we had a very early flight out the next morning. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had two doubles, along with a chair, desk, fridge and coffee. It was a large room, but felt crowded. Very clean, and obviously new. Beds were comfortable.

There is no shuttle to the airport, which is only 5 minutes or so away, but a cab only costs $12.

We were surprised how off the main tracks this was, given that it is clearly there for people making use of Deer Lake airport. While you can see the Inn from the main road, you have to take a few residential streets to actually get to it. It felt like there just should have been an exit off the main road right to the Inn!

A good place for a night or two - lots of amenities, none of which we actually used given our arrival/departure schedule.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BT685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good bed and bathroom. Nice pool but hot tub had only 1 jet working and there was water everywhere, poor drainage so you had to walk very carefully! The location as quick for on and off the highway. There were some fast food places near by. Breakfast as so so but there's a Tim Hortons near by.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina2012-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear christina2012-5,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This new hotel has huge rooms and is centrally located for travellers going north to Gros Morne, or south to Port Aux Basques or back to St. John's. Great place to do day trips from. Breakfast was missing some of the usual HI Express items but still plenty to eat (no cinnamon buns).
Staff were helpful. Great for kids as it has indoor waterslide and pool. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Holiday Inn Express in Deer Lake, NL
It was very clean and the beds were so comfortable
The only thing is that the temperature in the room was either too cool or too warm.
Don't forget to bring you bathing suit for the pool :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was in Corner Brook for business all week, and wanted to be close to Deer Lake airport my last night, so checked in to Holiday Inn Express fairly late on a Saturday. This hotel is only 15 minutes from the airport and has exactly what you would expect from a relatively new property of this sort. The room was very clean, had nice flat screen TV, free wifi, comfortable desk chair and large desk. There were plenty of electrical outlets for charging your electronic devices. Bed was very comfortable, nice shower head in bathroom. Seemed like a lot of kids at breakfast on Sunday morning, and the food was adequate, not great, but I wasn't expecting much, so expectations met. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to be close to the only airport in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YHZ-Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
70 reviews
23.9 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
16 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Marble Villa at Marble Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range: $125 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing