We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Noisy”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I travel for work, almost non stop. I am very loyal to the IHG Brand. The Priority Club loyalty program is excellent. I find myself in quite a number of Holiday Inn Expresses. They are almost always newer properties and they have decent King Suites. The lack of a restaurant in house is a downfall, but they usually do the trick.

Upon check in, I was taken aback when I asked about the check in gift for the Platinum Member ( Priority Club ) and was informed that it is usually a bottle of water but they ran out. No big deal but it did indicate a tightwad approach from the ownership. I arrived late and needed some sleep, at about 5:30 AM, the overwhelming noise started. It seems that someone cut some corners on the construction and you could hear a pin drop ( and every footstep ) from several surrounding rooms.

The staff was friendly.

I do love Holiday Inn, but this isn't their best property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Bigalkie,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked the cleanliness of our hotel as well as our convenient location. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Platinum Club member.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    109
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
91
82
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while on the island and everything was perfect. This is a new building and it was a pleasure to spend a couple of nights there.

The beds were wonderful with pillow top mattresses!

Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn Express fare which is better than most. (Hot Breakfast!)

Room Tip: Although we did not find highway noise to be an issue, the front of the hotel would be the quieter s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

stayed at this hotel in a family suite and was very impressed was a large room with two bunk beds with its own tv as well as a large king size bed flat screen tv small kitchenette with a sink and some dishes, large washroom, pull out sofa bed and coffee table. this is a newly opened hotel and is very nice, there is a swimming pool waterslide and jacuzzi great for families and small children, the complimentary breakfast was very good many choices from bacon sausage rolls eggs cererals bagels toast tea coffees pancakes etc large variety, would suggest this resort as one of the best places to stay in Deer Lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl2011079_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseann W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi Travelgirl
So glad you enjoyed our your stay in our spacious family suite. You echo the comments of many of our guests who like you enjoy the pool and waterslide and free hot breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again and hearing more great comments.
Regards
Roseann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Got in late on an AC flight. Large room, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty minimal but there is a Tim Hortons a few streets away. Rooms have large TVs and good beds. Lots of parking. Close to the airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Derrick D,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. I am pleased you found our location and room accommodations commendable. Please accept my sincerest apology if the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of this issue and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here to catch an early flight the following day. Staff was very friendly, room was clean and modern, pool was nice. Unfortunately I could not only here people out in the hallway opening and closing their doors but I could here people in the rooms above and below us with surprising clarity. So much so that I could here the click of the lamps being turned on and off. It's a nice hotel but if you have to get up in the wee hours of the morning I hope you are not a light sleeper.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfiegal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Newfiegal78,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of your room. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations due to the noise which affected your stay negatively. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAUGHAN, ONTARIO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

One night stay recently due to 5am next morning flight. New hotel finally gives Deer Lake a decent option. It has all the amenities you'd expect in a HI Express: Very clean & fresh, Nice bedding, deluxe continental breakfast (God awful coffee!), staff very friendly... they set up a cab for me 4am... long way from airport! Location a bit isolated if you don't have a vehilce, walked about 15 minutes to Tim Horton's, A&W, etc.. nice looking pool with slide & hot tub which i didn't have time to try out...this will be the only place i stay at going forward in Deer Lake, NL!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafs_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently spent three nights at this hotel and would go nowhere else while I'm visiting Deer Lake. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a pool with a slide, which is great for children. The continental breakfast is very convenient and tasty. Nothing bad to say about this location!

Room Tip: Bring your bathing suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 835Dolores709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.9 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
23.7 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
Address: 38 Bennett's Ave, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing