We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“William K” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Deer Lake B&B and Inns
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“William K”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This has to be the worst facility I have ever stayed in. After reading some of the other reviews (much to late for me now) I have to agree with some of them completely. How this B&B ever got a passing rating is beyond belief. The yard was a mess and the entrance was dirty with smudges on the walls. At first sight the accommodation looked reasonable. However when we actually moved into the room and had a chance to look at in in greater detail, this is what we found. The bathroom was dirty with mould around the bottom of the shower and spital of toothpaste on the wall near the sink. The walk-in closet was filled with folding cots so that we could not access the hangers to hold our coats.

Enter the room, where to begin. The huge TV had a picture you could hardly see, The bed spreads were frayed but were somewhat clean as were the sheets. This was the best part of the room. The floor was not clean and showed a lot of wear and scratches. Behind the TV and under the beds was not just dirt but it looked like straw pieces (probably from the mattresses) piled a good two inches thick. There is no way this room had been inspected in any detail in at least two years. I could continue but I think you get the picture. As for breakfast, once you stepped over the cereal on the floor to get to a table you could have a selection of cold cereal or toast with the cheapest of peanut butter and jam, These were obviously used as community jars as one could see butter and jam in the peanut butter jar and butter in the jam jar.

Believe me a pig sty would be an improvement. This place was absoutley awful. How it got its rating and write-up in the Newfoundland accommodations is beyond belief?

Room Tip: don't come close to this facility even if you have to drive further to find some accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    12
    18
    18
See reviews for
8
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I think my expectations were high because this has a 4 star rating, and I don't think it deserves it. We came the end of Sept, had not reserved a room, had to wait an hour while one was cleaned for us, that wasn't an issue as we went to eat supper. Some things were missing from the room that would have been nice, Kleenex, soap for the shower, extra pillows so you could read, I could have gone to find the owner to ask, but was simply too tired. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, towels were older ones that didn't match. We did ask for breakfast at 7:30 am rather than wait until 8 as we needed to have an earlier start, I didn't mind continental, however it was pretty cheap,cold cereal, margarine and the cheapest jam. Off season rates were only $85 with tax, so proce was good, it's just the 4 star thing.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very unhappy with this property - front door covered with dirt & owner does not live onsite - we had to call another number then he came over 5 minutes later. House & furniture look good but when you look closely they are worn & not very clean. Bathroom towels were old, mismatched and under the sink & in the drawers inside the cupboard where filthy!! There was no closet in the room & not even hooks on the door to hang your coats. Being an unguarded place I was not going to leave my coat in the front hall. No little soaps, shampoos or anything else. Front yard was a mess of weeds and we were told we could park behind the front row of cars that were already up against the house as "they're permanently parked". Not sure if the place has changed hands but there is clearly a problem. Based on the recent reviews we have checked the linens and they seem ok but also based on the other reviews we won't be eating breakfast here. Will be contacting Canada Select & B&B about making sure this place's rating gets reduced

Room Tip: Don't book this!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torontolove2travelb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port aux Basques, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed at this b&b last week. It was disgusting!!! the place smelled of urine, sheets were stained, towels not clean. The bathroom was filthy!!! We had to shower with our shoes on...in fact, should not have showered because the towels were not clean. The blinds had about 2-3 inches of dust on them. The guests in the next room,left early, and were extremely noisy from 3:30-5:00 am. The breakfast was one loaf of bread....nothing else...the sink was full of dirty dishes!! I would not recommend this B&B.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank pabgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Unfortunately we were desperate & booked into this B&B from the Newfoundland guidebook a day before we needed it & gave our credit card number to hold a room. When you arrive, the front yard is a mess of either bare dirt or overgrown weeds. The backyard is worse with nothing but huge weeds surrounding some rundown lawn furniture. The front door was white & covered with filth, fingerprints, etc plus the front porch was dirty. The inside of the house looks impressive on first look with major renovations but look a little deeper & you can see something completely different. Our room was not ready at 3:30. The owner was very unkept looking which should have been our first clue. Overall, we ran into the following problems: Our sheets were stained and not clean. The furniture was dusty & the mirrors were dirty. I used toilet tissue to clean around the edge of the floor just so we could stand to look at it without flinching. Our towels did not match and were not very clean. There was no hand soap and one facecloth. Once you looked around the house, the kitchen was very unsanitary with dirty dishes in the sink, food stains all over, etc. We were told there would be a continental breakfast when we got up in the morning but being early risers, we luckily looked around the eating area & saw a filthy toaster, coffee pot, dishes, cups, silverware, etc and left without breakfast. We just kept our shoes on and tried not to touch anything more than we had to. Unfortunately B&B's in Newfoundland are heavily booked and this was the only one we could get a room within a day. this B&B is a disgrace to every other B&B we stayed in which were all clean, well kept and enjoyable. The owner did not even try to accomodate us and we were told we could make our own breakfast which seemed to consist of 3 boxes of stale cereal and some rather questionable bread. I will be contacting Canada Select as I understand they visit these B&B's once every two years for inspection but warn the owners ahead of time that they are coming. this place definitely needs a visit without any warning. DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yellowbelly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

July 29 and 30. Room was not ready when we arrived, despite website saying check in by 3 pm. We were provided with 2 towels of different size,colour and quality and questionable cleanliness. There was one hand towel, no bath mat, no soap, no,shower gel. The bathroom floor had black hairs on it, the shower base and mirrors had not been cleaned for some time. All the furniture was dusty. The kitchen hygiene was non existent.There were at least 2 days' worth of breakfast dishes in the sink, the bin had not been emptied for some time and had never been wiped, the microwave was filthy. Breakfast was a health risk.. There were oranges growing penicillin, milk served in the carton with the red'special' label,still on it,margarine with a melted puddle of rancid fat, some stale bread and Smuckers jams in jars, most of which were nearly empty. We have stayed in10 other b abd bs in Newfoundland, some of which have not had four star ratings. This was the worst experience we have had and is an insult to all the other hard working, proud operators of b and bs who provide wonderful experiences. This one makes a mockery of the star rating system. How this one is allowed to call itself 4 stars is a mystery, and how dare it charge the rates it does! The number of bad reviews on this site indicates that that the operator takes no notice of customers' opinions. Someone from Canada Select needs to address this issue if the organisation is to maintain its integrity.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This B&B was advertised both on line and in the NL travel guide as a 4*. It doesn't deserve a *. We aren't even sure if the linens were fresh on the beds. The double bed squeaked as soon as it was sat upon.The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. There were two towels and two facecloths. When my husband had a shower and opened the towel, human hair in the form of a hairball fell out of the towel. There were two drinking glasses - one was clean the other had dried food on it. There was excess noise outside the bedroom, which faced the street. Breakfast consisted of our choice of white or brown bread, which we toasted ourselves and store bought jams - in the bottles. There were oranges in a bowl and they were mouldy. We travelled western NL and this B&B on our last night was a HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 Garden Rd, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Lake
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bird's Nest Bed And Breakfast Deer Lake, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing