We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 5 Deer Lake B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Our room was small and smelled funny. Sheets were full of lint and we could hear everything in the other rooms and hallway.

Gordon was pleasant when we arrived but we only saw Judy for a just a moment in the morning before she took off. Everyone was left to get there own toast or store bought muffins. Jams were restaurant packages - our first B&B in Newfoundland that didn't have anything hot or homemade jams.

Coffe ran out in the morning and no one knew where the owners kept their coffee to make some more. Finally one guest found the can - so it was the guests that made a fresh pot!
In the morning guests were trying to get information - other guests were trying to help out since the owners were no where to be found.

We stayed at another B&B for $75 (taxes incl) that provided a bedroom with a private livingroom, bathroom and private deck. At wonderful hot breakfast was served to us in the morning. Here we paid $75 plus taxes and were completely disappointed plus it cost more!

If you are looking for a place to stay in Deer Lake, I would check out other B&B in the area and review them on tripadvior. It would be worth the 50km drive to stay in Corner Brook rather than here.

It would be worth the 50km drive to stay in Corner Brook rathern than here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

We arrived to find no room with two beds as we had booked. Owner brought in a cot for one of us in the already very small room. Had to climb over the end of the cot to get to the bathroom. Breakfast was self-serve of cereal, toast and store bought muffins. Did get a reduced rate though. Front yard definitely not as pictured.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank marsflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in June 2011 and we dit NOT enjoy this B&B.

First of all, the owners were not home when we arrived (that itself is OK ofcourse) but the phonenumber which we could ring was busy for half an hour. So we had to wait.
When the owners came home, the male owner at first did not introduce himself to us at all. Later that evening he eventually did introduce himself. The female owner has not introduced herself at all, even though we said 'good morning' the next morning. She just said 'hi' and then turned around (away from us). We did expect some more friendly people.

The breakfast was poor. We could toast some bread, but there was only 1 muffin left (we were at breakfast at 08:20h) and there was some cereal, coffee and juice. That's it! As a sandwich-filling there was only (jelly-)jam; nothing else.

The bed in the room was cracking even when you looked at it. In bed, you could not move without making a lot of noise and also under the mattress there was some sort of plastic cloth which made the bed not able to 'breathe'. Not very nice.

The room and the seperate bathroom were clean and there was enough parkingspace.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Multax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Wonderful service; very well appointed rooms. Clean, neat, everything needed. Amazing to be picked up at the airport at 4:30am and be given the opportunity to sleep in before a long drive. Every detail was taken care of. Will definitely return and tell anyone that is flying in or out of Deer Lake to stay there on the way! Definitely the best park and fly - they kept my car safe in their home parking lot while I was travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

During a recent Newfoundland blizard I was not able to travel to Deer lake to pick my wife up after her trip to Punta cana. I called the bird nest to get her a room for the night and was delighted that they would even pick her up at the airport.The owners were so helpful in helping us out in a bind. The birds nest did everything they could to make her stay perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greyhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were in the Kingfisher Room which was well priced and very clean. Although the bedroom itself was small the bathroom was very large. The queen bed was comfortable.

The house had a nice guest lounge and the breakfast was excellent. You pretty well had your choice of what you wanted whether it be a hot breakfast or continental or something in between.

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.

The only negative would be that the floor of the hall going by the room could be noisy when guests were up and around. I believe they were hardwood floors and some kind of runner would prevent that.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hockey005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed here with a friend and while my room was wonderful her room was very dusty, the towel bar came off at one end and she was convinced that the sheets had not been changed? However, the hostess was wonderful and breakfast was good. The B and B was very busy and perhaps my friend's room just go overlooked.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deer Lake hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
2.6 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spud Suites
Spud Suites
#1 of 2 in Deer Lake
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 55 Garden Rd, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Lake
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bird's Nest Bed And Breakfast Deer Lake, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing