We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale and Immaculately clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Humberview B & B

The Humberview B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Humberview B & B
Ranked #1 of 5 Deer Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upscale and Immaculately clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We found the Humberview B&B to be immaculately clean, everything looked new, beds were good. This was probably the fanciest B&B that we have ever stayed in. They asked that you leave your shoes at the door, which made sense, and may have helped keep it so clean. We stayed in their least expensive room, downstairs, the Imperial, but it was fine, $120 Cdn.

The Humberview had a for sale sign outside. It appeared to be run by a young lady, Brandy. I did not ask what her relationship was with the owners, but I assumed that she was a member of the owner's family.

We had to leave very early to catch a flight, and she offered to pack us a bag breakfast and leave it in the fridge. That was nice. We don't know what their regular breakfast would be like.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
40
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

OK, our experience doesn't fit with some of the other reviews. Perhaps they were having an off day. That doesn't excuse how we were treated.

A heads up: this property is no longer being run directly by the owners who have moved to mainland Canada, and are employing other staff to run it. (As our tour company found out subsequently). That may explain some of what follows.

We arrived to be told they didn't have our booking. Our booking voucher (thank heavens I had it) was examined somewhat sceptically. Once it was agreed we had a booking we were shown to a small basement bedroom with a small window looking out on the back lawn. Not quite the Humber River view then. When we pointed out we had booked a room with a bath, we were told we'd have to pay extra for that. Across the hall was an unused room with a bath. Overall: not made to feel welcome, not treated like customers, not given the room we'd paid for and made to feel a nuisance.

The property is in a residential suburb of Deer Lake, with no nearby shops or restaurants. The nearest restaurants are fast food joints a ten minute drive away. Deer Lake is a service town on the transcanadian with no real attractions and limited dining and shopping options.

The property is immaculately clean and does indeed feel like someone's house. Which it is really. I wonder what the neighbours think about all the cars parked out front and the coming and going. The place is so spotless you're afraid to breathe.

Breakfast was good (but with slightly limited options).

As I say, perhaps this was an off day. In my view this is a slightly "odd" B+B in an odd part of town, and in a town with little reason to stop there. If we'd known we'd have driven the extra 45 minutes into Gros Morne and stayed there.

Sorry folks: you let us down I'm afraid.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidbummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed one night. Beautiful modern large house that has numerous rooms. The house is very clean, beds comfortable and a fantastic breakfast is served. The ideal place to stay if arriving late or departing early from the Deer Lake Airport.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Finally, we thought as we arrived at the luxurious mini-mansion that is the Humberview bed and breakfast, an establishment that looks as though it will have solid enough walls and floors to let us sleep undisturbed by the noise of other guests. And we were right -- such a shame therefore that the hosts were the ones keeping us awake here.

The Humberview looks and feels like a small luxury hotel. The rooms are large, immaculately clean and well-furnished. The service was friendly and when we asked whether we could borrow a bathroom scale to weigh our suitcases, one was provided right away. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious.

Our problems came at night, as they had done across the province in other bed and breakfasts. One of our bedrooms was below the office, where two employees chatted loudly, walked around with heavy feet and made phone calls until 1115 pm the first night. I complained gently the next morning and the noise in the office went down. Unfortunately, our other room was beneath the dining room, where someone was laying the table noisily well past 11 pm the second night. You often take chances with insulation levels when you book bed and breakfasts in Newfoundland but I would have thought that somewhere as upmarket as the Humberview would have focused more on basic matters such as not banging around at a time when paying guests want to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

We are very surprised that this B&B has not been reviewed by others on TA yet, especially as there are not many alternatives in the area.

The entrance of the house is extremely grand. The rooms are huge, the beds lovely and comfy and the hosts Irene and Bronson are very hospitable. A lot of attention to detail has been paid in every room and other areas of the house.

A computer with internet access is available for guests' use at no charge, which gave us an unexpected opportunity to catch up with the European Football Championship results.

Don't be put off by it's location: although it is near Deer Lake airport it is in a very quiet residential area. We heard and saw a few planes flying over late in the afternoon, but never heard any noise during the night (and we did sleep with the windows open).

We stayed here for two non-consecutive nights, and will definitely try and book it again when we're next in Newfoundland.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mistaya71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Lake
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deer Lake
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Inn
Driftwood Inn
#4 of 4 in Deer Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Rocky Brook Road Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deer Lake Motel
Deer Lake Motel
#3 of 4 in Deer Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
24.0 mi away
Marble Inn Resort
Marble Inn Resort
#1 of 2 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
23.6 mi away
Marblewood Village Resort
Marblewood Village Resort
#1 of 1 in Steady Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Humberview B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Humberview B & B

Property: The Humberview B & B
Address: 11 Humberview Dr, Deer Lake, Newfoundland and Labrador A8A 1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Deer Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Lake
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the privacy and comfort of our spacious rooms. One room available with 2 double beds & 6 other rooms have queen beds, en-suites with shower &/or bath/jacuzzi, Satellite TV and free wireless internet. We are only 5 minutes away from the Deer Lake Airport and 30 minutes away from the start of Gros Morne National Park. Open year round with off season rates available. Room rates begin at $129.00 Plus tax breakfast included. Off season rates begin at $109.00 With breakfast included (October-April). Enter as guests, leave as friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Humberview B & B Deer Lake, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing