We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay better than the first”
Review of Carbonear Motel

Carbonear Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carbonear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carbonear Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carbonear
n.s.can
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Second stay better than the first”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband stayed here for 2 weeks 2 years ago and found it very central for where he wanted to sight see. That is why we stayed there for 2 nights middle of July. It is very handy to have the little kitchenette and the room is quite large with a nice bathroom. We had a room over looking the harbour and the view is fantastic. There is a boardwalk that goes right by the place and is a nice walk to see part of the town. The owners were quite friendly and the place is dog friendly. An added bonus for us as our dog usually has to sleep in the car most places we go.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor facing the harbour for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbonear, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I'm not sure about the previous reviews, but as I write this, I am staying at the Carbonear Hotel. It was recommended to me by my parents who stayed here when they were in their twenties, and the hotel operated under the name "Butt's Motel. I didn't know what to expect before coming. But I didn't expect the "Hilton" or a "Holiday Inn".
My room faces the street, my car is parked right in front, facing the street, not on the street.
My room is clean, new paint, fridge and stove, and three piece bath.
The hotel backs on to the bay, a beautiful view, any time of day. It's a close walk to the boardwalk and the origional downtown area.
I've stayed in four different hotels over the past week on my trip out to Newfoundland. As far as character, I'd say this was the best so far. Still have the return trip to do.
If you are looking to experience a little of the local hospitality and local atmosphere, I'd certainly make the recomendation to stay here. But not if you are looking for that "Hilton" experience. You can get a factory made motel/hotel anywhere...

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side do hear traffic til about 10pm. And, rooms on the street side have a boardw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OntarioTrucker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Small bed, lots of room fragrance (thank goodness I am not scent-sensitive) . Ancient, woody/cottage interior. I will definitely make sure I find a nicer accommodation next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ocea_nixe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carbonear hotels

chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Few motels are outside St. John's. This one, though dated, is adequate if you choose a harbor-view with a kitchen window that overlooks the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ski222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Rooms with amazing views, very affordable, and very clean. Only complaint, could use a bigger TV.! A great place to stay when visiting the Carbonear area.

Sounds of the ocean and small stream close by lets you rest like you in a spa surrounding..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwgwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

The Carbonear Motel is a very handy and well run motel right on the bay. The other motel (Fong's) is up on the highway and not in town. The proprietor of the Carbonear is very friendly, and efficient. He also runs one of the better gift shops on the Island as well. The motel serves as an excellent base of operations for the area, and the the view of the bay keeps you in touch with the ocean. The motel units have kitchettes and ample storage areas. Our unit was a little worn in terms of furnishings, but was very clean.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Aranawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbonear
21.8 mi away
Comerfords Suites
Comerfords Suites
#2 of 2 in Holyrood
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baccalieu Trail B&B
Baccalieu Trail B&B
#1 of 3 in Carbonear
32 reviews
11.9 mi away
Silverwood Inn Hotel
Silverwood Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bay Roberts
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Bayside Bed and Breakfast
23.0 mi away
Crossroads Motel & Trailer Park
2.5 mi away
Rose Manor Inn
Rose Manor Inn
#2 of 4 in Harbour Grace
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carbonear Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbonear Motel

Property: Carbonear Motel
Address: One Highroad South, Carbonear, Newfoundland and Labrador A1Y 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Carbonear
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carbonear
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Carbonear Motel Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing