We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Onion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cape Onion B&B and Inns
Parry Sound, Canada
2 reviews
“Absolute Beauty”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I just finished up 2 weeks in Newfoundland.
After being home for week we are still in awe at the beauty of the Tickle Inn.
Dave , Barb , and Sophie were absolute wonderful hosts and make you feel at home right from start to finish.
Although this is a b&b you can also join in for dinner and enjoy some of the best cooking on the island.
Enjoy the beauty and watch whales from your bedroom window.
We shall return.
Jim & Cathie
from Ontario

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always happy to have guests who truly appreciate what we offer. We know how spectacular the setting is (we think one of the best in NL) and love to share this beauty with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beautiful property in an idyllic spot. Lovely restored family home with the most gracious host. The breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful and the evening meal - wow! Make sure to treat yourself to that! Evenings in the parlour were filled with lively conversation, song, and camaraderie. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whattodonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review to Trip Adviser. We love to hear from guests who enjoy all that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What an amazing place! Such a beautiful location. We looked forward to each evening meal. Excellent food local and fresh . The continental breakfast each morning was just right to start your day. Our hosts...FANTASTIC! I really hope we get the chance to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review to Trip Adviser. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience here. We'd love to have you visit again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I will never forget my stay at The Tickle Inn. The welcoming feeling you receive from the owners when you walk in the door is like none other. The accommodations make you feel like you are staying at a family member's house, and that's exactly how we felt when we left.

Breakfast was superb, from homemade jams, breads, and muffins, to fresh fruit, eggs, ham, and cheese. It was like going to grandma's house :)

The evening meal is worth every penny and more, I do strongly recommend that you try it.

The after dinner company is the best part. Dave and Barb sit around with their guests and tell tidbits and stories about Newfoundland and sing traditional Newfoundland songs. There is a bar as well, and the drinks are very reasonably priced.

The scenery is breathtaking in this little tickle. If you're able to do the hike that is situated directly behind the inn, you must! From it you can see the Labrador coast, and we managed to see a couple of icebergs in the distance.

Myself and my partner will definitely return again sometime, being from Newfoundland, I assure you this is one of the best places to stay in the province to experience our culture!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfie2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review to Trip Adviser. The photos are beautiful and on such a spectacular day. We always love to have Newfoundlanders visit. You too have experiences to share with the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

No doubt, we will always remember this B&B. All the reviews are correct:
The Tickle Inn is absolutely beautiful, ideal for relaxing and enjoying nature. Dave and Barbara are really welcoming hosts, they will open their hearts and home. Evening meals are delicious... Impossible to write a negative review.
Keep in mind the house is very old, don't expect big rooms. No problem with sharing a bath as there are 3 bathrooms and 5 rooms.
We learnt a lot about Newfoundland and the Adams family. Evening chats with Dave and the other guests were the best way to end the day. If you want to experience the friendliness and caring of the Newfies this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review to Trip Adviser. We are always appreciative of guests who love this place as much as we do and want to share it with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tickle Inn is a little off the beaten track (watch out for moose particularly during the last ten kilometres) but as you come over the crest of the hill in your final kilometre and see the house and the tickle before you, there is no doubt in one's mind that you have made absolutely the right decision to stay there. The setting is spectacular and when you add to that how much at home the owners make you instantly feel it's almost impossible not to wish that you could stay here for the rest of your trip.
We stayed in the Skipper's Room (queen bed) which was larger than it appeared to be on the website with dual aspect windows and plenty of room for all our bags. The bed was very comfortable and the view over the tickle was lovely. Although shared bathrooms are not something we usually go for on holidays, don't be put off by this; it's just a feature of the age of the house and was never a problem.
Evening meals (with wine or beer, if wanted) are excellent, as are breakfasts, and there is also tea, coffee and cookies available in the lounge during the day.
It is possible to walk from the house and we saw icebergs and whales from the cliffs five minutes walk from the picket fence, as well as beautiful sunsets over Labrador.
The house has been fully restored by the current owners and it is wonderful that they have managed to retain a house that feels warm, comfortable and historical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your thorough and very positive review. We are always grateful for all that we have here and are happy that you appreciated it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a restored family home (4th generation), and you will be able to understand what Newfoundland living must have been like a generation ago. The hosts are in residence, and they have a wealth of knowledge - you feel as if you are a guest in a friend's home. The setting is a classic Newfoundland coastal village. Icebergs abound in June. The dining is gourmet, with local items on the menu for both dinner and breakfast. We cannot express enough how special this place is and what a fabulous introduction to Newfoundland the Adams provide.

Room Tip: There are no ensuite bathrooms, but this is not a problem because you and the other guests feel very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. We're delighted that you appreciated the special experience that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Onion
7.5 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Quirpon Island
27 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burnt Cape Cabins and Cafe
9.2 mi away
Wildberry Country Lodge
Wildberry Country Lodge
#4 of 4 in St. Anthony
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Haven Inn
Haven Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Anthony
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Inn at Cape Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Inn at Cape Onion

Property: Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Address: RR #1, Box 62 | Box 62, Cape Onion, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Cape Onion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Onion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registered Heritage Home on oceanfront property. Original home of successful inshore fishing family from the late 1800s to mid 1900s, now lovingly restored by family. Expansive meadows and hiking trails offering spectacular vistas. Recommended in many travel guides. Winner of several tourism awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Inn At Cape Onion Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing