We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Onion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cape Onion B&B and Inns
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed 3 great days/nights at the Tickle Inn in early June. We booked here because of previous reviews and did not want to stay in St. Anthony. As well it allowed us to easily access not only St. Anthony but L'anse aux Meadow as well. Our host, Sophie, certainly made us welcome and the house was meticulously maintained. Time spent in the parlor, talking to other residents, was enhanced by the coffee/tea/ treats service. An added bonus, for us, was that we had 2 evening meals there. Sophie prepared exceptional 3 course dinners that were very much appreciated after a full day of exploring the area. We were able to see icebergs and whales and also the weather allowed us to take advantage of the trail that leads behind the house up to a high vantage point that overlooks Cape Onion and the bay. We would never hesitate to book this B & B again.

Keith & Joanne, Ottawa, Ontario

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SproutCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive response. You had lots of great experiences while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santo Stefano Lodigiano, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

amazing location, a closed and silent bay where you can observe whales and far icebergs.
the road to arrive to it is a god point to see moose
the Inn is a little jewel. Small rooms but a very tidy service.
the breakfast and dinner can be comparable to those of a good restaurant
special dishes and home made foods. very suggested

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Tickle Inn. It is a long way from Italy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked here because of its location and the reviews. Our expectations were high, and we weren't disappointed. The hosts, David and Barbara and Sophie, couldn't have been friendlier or more obliging. Attention to detail in the amenities provided and cleanliness are top-notch. The conversation among hosts and guests was interesting and we enjoyed the after dinner story-telling and singing. Dinners were superb. Thanks for a memorable Canada Day celebrated in style.

Room Tip: Every room requires a climb up the stairs. We had a beautiful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You have informed us that "value" and "location" were supposed to be 5 dots. It is so very beautiful here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Tickle Inn is a wonderful old home located on beautiful cape Onion. But what makes this B&B even more special is the hostess & cook Sophie who is so friendly and accommodating. Be sure to enjoy her chef quality meals by having dinner there. The views and hike are the hills are great. This is the only spot that we saw a whale in Nfld. It is close to St Anthony and L'Anse Aux Meadows.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella155043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tickle Inn. In early June we are blessed to have Sophie to single handily care for guests until we can get there in mid-June. Sophie’s friendliness, warmth and competence are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more authentic Newfoundland experience; the house, the views, the smells and sounds of the ocean and coastal landscapes, the stories and songs. Any one of these elements is worthy of a stay at the Tickle Inn but when you add the warmth of the hosts and the thoughtfully compiled multi-course meals, always made with the best of local ingredients, your visit becomes a never-to-be-forgotten, once-in-a-lifetime experience (unless of course, you go back, which you will always want to do). I haven't even mentioned the whales, ice burgs and alpine wildflowers. Life is not complete without a stay at the Tickle Inn; a truly peaceful and magical place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PERL_NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
You must be thinking of tourist season and be recalling your trip to Tickle Inn! Thank you for taking time,even a year later, to submit a review to Trip Adviser. We very much appreciate your positive comments'and are delighted to hear that your stay was so memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Staying here was the highlight of a trip full of highlights. The B & B is an old wooden house, which was built and inhabited by the same family for generations and as well as excellent food, we were treated to stories of growing up there and the life they lived. As we parked our car we looked out into the bay and saw a humpback whale breech - that rather set the tone of our whole stay.
As it is an old wooden house the rooms are not large ,and sound does travel, but it is well worth it for the feeling of really being in an authentic Newfoundland family house - don't miss out .

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vespanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We always enjoy our guests from the UK and we're delighted that we could provide you with an authentic experience in Newfoundland and on this side of the Atlantic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Last April, we booked three nights at Cape Onion for the end of June for our first trip to Newfoundland and Labrador, based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed, it was all true. Apart from some non-descript hotels where we stayed during the drive in our rented car from St. John's up the Northern Peninsula, this was our introduction to Newfoundland. David and Barbara are generous hosts and wonderful cooks. Our advice: have the evening meals at the Inn. There's nowhere else to eat anywhere close and you won't find their kind of menu in most Newfoundland restaurants anyway. We enjoyed the conversations with the other guests (maximum 8 at one time,) The evenings in the parlour with songs and stories gave us a flavour for history and folklore. Then there were the 15 whales spouting and feeding on capelin just the other side of the rocks. We had a beautiful view from the hill overlooking the Inn and the tickle. A highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the small side and have sloping ceilings under the roof. It's an old house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock8, Owner at Tickle Inn at Cape Onion, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. Just one little correction - all the regularly used rooms on the second floor have normal vertical walls and a horizontal celing. The large third floor loft, which is only rarely used for familes or children, has a sloping ceiling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Onion
7.5 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Quirpon Island
27 reviews
5.1 mi away
Burnt Cape Cabins and Cafe
9.2 mi away
Wildberry Country Lodge
Wildberry Country Lodge
#4 of 4 in St. Anthony
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Haven Inn
Haven Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Anthony
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Genevieve Bay Inn
Genevieve Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Inn at Cape Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Inn at Cape Onion

Property: Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Address: RR #1, Box 62 | Box 62, Cape Onion, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Cape Onion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Onion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registered Heritage Home on oceanfront property. Original home of successful inshore fishing family from the late 1800s to mid 1900s, now lovingly restored by family. Expansive meadows and hiking trails offering spectacular vistas. Recommended in many travel guides. Winner of several tourism awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Inn At Cape Onion Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing