We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Trip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Onion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Ranked #1 of 1 Cape Onion B&B and Inns
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Trip!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My mother and I visited Tickle Inn this past August on the high recommendation of friends who had stayed there 10 years earlier. We even arranged our itinerary to ensure we could make a visit. It's a long ride up to Cape Onion but well worth it. The Inn was charming and the views were second to none.
We probably had the best dinner of our lives- at least our trip. We started with a fabulous carrot soup, then Triple fish- if you wish- (something like that) comprised of trout, shrimp and scallops in a fish shaped dish with fish shaped puff pastry on top, and for dessert a Screech ice cream cake that was incredible. We were so stuffed that we went for a short walk along the shore and then went to the parlour to enjoy songs and tall tales. What an experience. Other guests that were there were repeat customers and travelled there regularly and in this case to celebrate their anniversary.
Tickle Inn may not be a luxury accommodation as such (smallish rooms and shared washrooms) but one of the richest experiences you could ask for. A must visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MMills310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We visited the Tickle Inn in late September (it closes the end of September). Sophie was the only one there to look after us all, but she did it efficiently and graciously. Breakfasts were delicious and dinners were also very good with amazing desserts both nights were were there. The inn is well-kept, the scenery, and the trails afforded beautiful views and a chance to walk off the extra calories. And, best of all, we were treated to a bull moose coming right into the yard (barely stopping to navigate his way in and out of the slightly-open gate). I'd highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lingfing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Level Contributor
159 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a historic house in which your host David Adams spent his early youth. The rooms are adaquate in size and Sophie keeps them squeaky clean. The views are outstanding and perhaps the most beautiful in Newfoundland. We recommend eating all your dinners there. Excellent wine is available for dinner. The kitchen work is shared by David, Barbara, and Sophie and the output is wonderous. After dinner guests meet in the parlour for Newfoundland songs and tales recited by David. It is a great chance to learn of Newfoundland, its culture and people. Baths are not private but there are 2 1/2 baths for 4 rooms and this is never a problem. We consider this our second home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonKinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Tickle Inn is quite isolated and unique. Due to its isolation I highly recommend that you book the excellent dinner service. While its rooms are small and do not have en suite bathrooms, they have plenty of character. This is not a five star resort but the friendliness and professionism of the owners more than make up for any defiencies in the physical plant. Staying there is an unique experience that gives you a perfect example of traditional Newfoundland hospitality. The best place to stay if you are visiting St Anthonys and L'Anse aux Meadows

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nestled in a little bay tucked against a mountain the Tickle Inn is a little corner of Paradise. Walking trails just out the door, delphiniums in the garden and moose in the meadow are just a few of the treats in store for those who make the trek to the northernmost tip of Newfoundland. The inn itself is an authentic family homestead still run and occupied by descendants of the original settlers. Precook your supper, not just because there are no restaurants handy but because your tastebuds will thank-you. We were treated to Cape Onion soup, fresh mussels, cod, and savory roast potatoes, and a delicious desert of chocolate partridgeberry fantasy. All recipes developed at the Inn. Meals are served at a communal table. After dinner we moved to the comfortable sitting room (some with wine in hand-the inn is licensed) and chatted and sang some Newfoundland songs. After a comfortable night lulled by the sound of the sea we had a delicious breakfast featuring homemade jams, bread, granola, coffee cake and muffins among other delights. This place is a destination and worth a special trip.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Llanwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
356 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I had been excited about staying here, and it didn't disappoint. The setting is absolutely breathtaking. This beautiful inn was built in the 1890s by David Adams' great-grandfather. It is now a registered heritage structure and gives you a real feeling for those fisherman who came here and built a life based on fishing.

The flowers and wildflowers are gorgeous and the bay goes right by the yard of the home. We took some time the next morning to stroll for quite a wise (indeed a sign told you that it was private property and invited you to enjoy it!). We also found some wild strawberries and enjoyed them on our stroll.

The four bedrooms share three bathrooms (which are not ensuite). The rooms are small but warm and cozy. Somehow, the shared bathrooms were never a problem. We did not come for the dinner because we were too busy looking at icebergs near St. Anthony. The people staying here, though, raved about it. Then, after dinner, we all adjourned to the living room where David sang a few songs, gave us a lesson in Newfoundland history, and then, finally, we joined in singing (or attempting to sing) the Ode to Newfoundland.

Breakfast was one of the top breakfasts in our two weeks in Newfoundland. The fruit plate was tasty. Homemade granola was exceptional. Then, you could pick from several kinds of homemade bread, jam, and a few different kinds of muffins. I only regret that I was too full after the excellent molasses bread to try the muffins.

We left after one night to go to L'Anse aux Meadows. If we were planning the trip again, I'd definitely plan another day there. There are some craft shops in the area and I had wanted to go on the Eco Tour of Burnt Cape (given every day at 9:30 and in the afternoon, too). The flowers were blooming in riotous profusion and the day we sunny and sparkly. This setting and hospitality is not to be believed, and we feel privileged to have stayed here. I reserved in March and there was only a room with twin beds left so I quickly reserved that. If you plan to stay here, do not wait--make those reservations as soon as you know what your schedule might be. Also, plan to just come here and absorb the peacefulness, the scenic beauty, the history, the walks, the house. It was truly a highlight.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, ear plugs are provided, but we had wonderful visitors staying with us, and it all wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

After staying here for two nights, we decided that this place should be the first stop for anyone coming to Newfoundland as you will be able to tour with much deeper understanding of the people and culture and will also learnabout more hidden gems. First, the arrival to this unique inn is stunning as you come down the hill and see the rugged coastline and water laid out before you and then you look to your left and there it stands, proud and perfect in it's setting. It is an old house with all the old house charms and all rooms share bathrooms, but it works out well. Breakfasts are healthy and tasty with some of the best homemade muffins and breads and jams I've ever had. The fruit platter alone is a visual delight. But if you can, most definitely partake in the evening 3 course meal. It is a gastronomic delight with local fish, veg, soups and desserts. David and Barbara Adams are the most involved hosts I've ever had when staying at a B&B. Barb is mainly behind the scenes, and David is an attentive and historical wonder. A very proud Newfoundlander that can educate you quite well on the history of the house, the island, the people and politics. We have a newfound admiration for the people of this land. Make sure you save time to take the hikes that are adjacent to the house and enjoy the lounge before and after dinner to hear stories and songs and finish with the Ode to Newfoundland.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Onion
17.1 mi away
Grenfell Heritage Hotel & Suites
5.1 mi away
Burnt Cape Cabins and Cafe
7.5 mi away
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
The Big Blow Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Quirpon Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Wildberry Country Lodge
Wildberry Country Lodge
#4 of 4 in St. Anthony
42 reviews
16.5 mi away
Haven Inn
Haven Inn
#2 of 4 in St. Anthony
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dockside Motel
Dockside Motel
#1 of 2 in St Barbe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Inn at Cape Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Inn at Cape Onion

Property: Tickle Inn at Cape Onion
Address: RR #1, Box 62 | Box 62, Cape Onion, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Cape Onion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Onion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Registered Heritage Home on oceanfront property. Original home of successful inshore fishing family from the late 1800s to mid 1900s, now lovingly restored by family. Expansive meadows and hiking trails offering spectacular vistas. Recommended in many travel guides. Winner of several tourism awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Inn At Cape Onion Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing