We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Real NL B&B - A Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Harbourview is a historic house in Bonavista from the 1860's or so, and built by Albert's great grandfather -- a picture of whom you will find in the kitchen. For the time it must have been a huge house, and originally had 4 fireplaces. The rooms are very large for a B&B and very comfortable. Albert and Florence work as a team, and although they may not agree on who is the boss, they do a fantastic job of hosting. However, from the outside one might see it as Florence taking the lead on cooking, and Albert with the story telling...

One of the first guests at Harbourview was Gordon Pinsent, when Queen Elizabeth was in Bonavista to celebrate the replica of John Cabot's ship Matthew's arrival for the 500th anniversary. Ask Albert to tell you the story of how Pinsent got a reservation...

If your plans are to stay in the Trinity-Bonavista area, I can highly recommend this B&B. It is the quickest way to take a full immersion course in the culture of NL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 156 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

- My girlfriends and I stayed one night at the Harbourview B&B. They were able to get three of us in one room (one queen bed and one twin), which was great because many other local B&Bs were unable to do this. One of the great parts of this stay was that it encourages a social experience with their evening "lunch" and breakfast. I got to know people from all over the world.

Why it's awesome -
- Excellent hosts! Albert and Florence are warm and hospitable.
- Excellent food! They serve two meals - evening "lunch" at 10pm and a delicious full breakfast at 9 am.
- Excellent Location
- Excellent Price

Last notes: The accommodations are modest - decorating circa 1950, so don't expect luxury furniture, but the food and company can not be beat. Also there is no wifi at this place.

If you are planning a trip to Newfoundland, you can get all my advice at my Newfoundland travel blog: ontherocktrip.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreelanceAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Harbourview B & B was by far the best night we had in our 3 week stay in NL. I wish we could have stayed for a bit longer. Albert & Florence Little are two of the greatest people you could meet in Bonivista. Albert grew up in the house, it's clean and very comfortable and the Little's are very entertaining. They served us a "snack" of shrimp and homemade pastries and breakfast a feast of ham, eggs, toast , coffee/tea & 3 kinds of homemade jam ( Albert picks the berries ) . When we left Albert gave me 2 salt cod (yum) and Florence gave me a hug. I highly recommend the Harbourview B & B. Thanks Albert & Florence for a great stay.

P.S. Ask Albert to introduce you to the Liars Club

Justina & William Smyth
Fort Saskatchewan AB

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justina968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This B&B is ridiculously amazing! The hosts are two of the funniest, and kindest people I have ever met. If you don't stay here while you're in bonavista, you're a fool - it has to be one of the coolest places to stay in the whole province! I wish we could've stayed longer just to spend more time with the wonderful owners, and to eat the ridiculously large amount of snow crab and desserts provided by the hosts for a 10pm "snack". AMAZING

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had booked one night here on a whim, knowing nothing about the place. As soon as we arrived, we immediately booked a second night. The B&B is cozy, warm and welcoming -- much like its hosts. Others have already mentioned the veritable feast of evening snacks, and we were there during berry season so we also got served large quantities of blueberries that Albert had freshly picked that day. Harbourview is excellent value, Albert and Florence are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet, and we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank segacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was a return visit for us. The previous reviews are in keeping with what we experienced.
Florence and Albert Little are the salt of the earth. Proud and lifetime residents of Bonavista. Welcoming, generous and wonderful hosts, they work together to provide a hearty breakfast which includes seemingly endless homemade toasted bread and local berry jams (at least three), in addition to the ham and eggs.
The real bonus and surprise is the evening "snack". Warning: don't bother having a dessert with your evening meal because you will be offered a feast and lots of conversation around 10pm. Typically, this feast begins with a ton of local crab and shrimp (not exaggerating!) served in a truly unique fashion by Albert, followed by tea and dessert(s) whipped up and served by Florence...we have had tarts and/or cream puffs with all local berries and cream, trifles, scratch cakes, rocky roads and other cookies. All homemade!!! Sometimes one of her daughters will also bring in a dessert that she made!! WOW!!!
The accommodations themselves are not at all fancy, but it is located within walking distance to practically everything, and it is kept clean and comfortable and quiet and inexpensive.
An experience on par with iceberg and whale watching.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WellTravelledMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Let's put it this way... You are not aloud to be shy there. If you are LITERALLY ANTI-SOCIAL: (I mean major issue) Don't go here because it would be hell for you. They serve shrimp and crab every single night. The Couple that owns the place are the nicest people you will ever meet.

This place is nicer than home so if your out in the Bonavista area do NOT miss out on this once of a life opportunity.

This place will not disappointing.

K
so
since your reading this right now..... Well just book the reservations.
This place is epic.
10 pm there is the happy hour.
Tea, crab, shrimp, SO MANY DESERTS, milk, OJ, Toast with 4 homeade jams.




BEST B&B EVAR!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ultraboydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
0.4 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
22.4 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
0.3 mi away
HI Bonavista Hostel
HI Bonavista Hostel
#6 of 6 in Bonavista
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21 Ryans Hill, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Harbourview Bed And Breakfast
Harbourview Hotel Bonavista
Harbourview Bed & Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing