We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in all of newfoundland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in all of newfoundland”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This B&B is ridiculously amazing! The hosts are two of the funniest, and kindest people I have ever met. If you don't stay here while you're in bonavista, you're a fool - it has to be one of the coolest places to stay in the whole province! I wish we could've stayed longer just to spend more time with the wonderful owners, and to eat the ridiculously large amount of snow crab and desserts provided by the hosts for a 10pm "snack". AMAZING

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
95
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had booked one night here on a whim, knowing nothing about the place. As soon as we arrived, we immediately booked a second night. The B&B is cozy, warm and welcoming -- much like its hosts. Others have already mentioned the veritable feast of evening snacks, and we were there during berry season so we also got served large quantities of blueberries that Albert had freshly picked that day. Harbourview is excellent value, Albert and Florence are two of the nicest people you'll ever meet, and we couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank segacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was a return visit for us. The previous reviews are in keeping with what we experienced.
Florence and Albert Little are the salt of the earth. Proud and lifetime residents of Bonavista. Welcoming, generous and wonderful hosts, they work together to provide a hearty breakfast which includes seemingly endless homemade toasted bread and local berry jams (at least three), in addition to the ham and eggs.
The real bonus and surprise is the evening "snack". Warning: don't bother having a dessert with your evening meal because you will be offered a feast and lots of conversation around 10pm. Typically, this feast begins with a ton of local crab and shrimp (not exaggerating!) served in a truly unique fashion by Albert, followed by tea and dessert(s) whipped up and served by Florence...we have had tarts and/or cream puffs with all local berries and cream, trifles, scratch cakes, rocky roads and other cookies. All homemade!!! Sometimes one of her daughters will also bring in a dessert that she made!! WOW!!!
The accommodations themselves are not at all fancy, but it is located within walking distance to practically everything, and it is kept clean and comfortable and quiet and inexpensive.
An experience on par with iceberg and whale watching.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WellTravelledMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Let's put it this way... You are not aloud to be shy there. If you are LITERALLY ANTI-SOCIAL: (I mean major issue) Don't go here because it would be hell for you. They serve shrimp and crab every single night. The Couple that owns the place are the nicest people you will ever meet.

This place is nicer than home so if your out in the Bonavista area do NOT miss out on this once of a life opportunity.

This place will not disappointing.

K
so
since your reading this right now..... Well just book the reservations.
This place is epic.
10 pm there is the happy hour.
Tea, crab, shrimp, SO MANY DESERTS, milk, OJ, Toast with 4 homeade jams.




BEST B&B EVAR!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ultraboydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had an incredible time here Albert is quite the character and makes you feel right at home right away. At about 9:30pm Albert makes lunch and luckily my wife doesn't eat crab so there were more for the rest of us. Albert has a great system of cutting and distributing the crab. After lunch Florence, Albert's wife makes tea and serves up her wonderful home made cookies and fruit cups filled with her homemade preserves of partridge berry and bake apple with whipped cream, what a fantastic way to cap off the day. Breakfast was great juice, coffee, ham & eggs with toast and home made jams delicious. The rooms are comfortable, no frills, dated but clean and fine for us comfortable beds and pillows slept like a baby. The bathrooms are not en suite but private and right next to your room. Albert and Florence are wonderful hosts and I would definitely recommend staying here what a great experience we hated to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Senior_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hospitality at it's best. Albert and Flossie were like an uncle and aunt who were sharing their home with us. Albert had a wonderful knowledge of the area and eagerly shared with us. Flossie kept us fed with treats from her kitchen and Albert brought out a few crab for a bedtime snack (see picture). The old Ryan house was next door (a national historic site) and we got a private tour because we were the first in the morning.

Spacious room. Clean. Substantial servings of breakfast and snacks. comfortable sitting area.

Everything a B&B should be.

We will be back one day.

Room Tip: arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clark_Kent_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My two-night stay at this clean and homy B&B run by hosts Florence and Albert Little definitely had a Newfoundland warmth, and I enjoyed every minute of it. The house was Albert's childhood home. The Book of Newfoundland and his grandfather's bravery awards take pride of place in the living room. A music book of Newfoundland folk songs sits on the piano. Although it was the beginning of the season and I was the lone guest, a huge feast of fresh crab was boiled up for me and each night Florence served several of her homemade desserts for bedtime tea. Breakfast was hearty: ham and eggs, Florence's rhubarb relish, toast with three kinds of homemade jam (bakeapple, partridgeberry and blueberry); orange juice, and tea or coffee -- or Pepsi, Albert's drink of choice. Harbourview B&B is just steps from The Ryan Premises (Federal museum) and local museum. The hosts are friendly and fun; they know their town and want their guests to have a good time there. They go out of their way to help you and see that you enjoy your stay. I arrived quite late, wanting to get to the library before it closed. Albert hopped into his car and led me there, so that I wouldn't waste time getting lost. At the end of my stay Florence walked with me along the boardwalk around the Olden Days Pond. I believe that this is what B&Bs were meant to be.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sojourner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
0.4 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#8 of 9 in Bonavista
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Bird Island Inn B&B
Bird Island Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harbourview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 21 Ryans Hill, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Harbourview Bed And Breakfast
Harbourview Hotel Bonavista
Harbourview Bed & Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing