We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonavista Social Club

Bonavista Social Club
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Bonavista
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently was able to try Bonavista Social Club during my week long stay in Amherst Cove to visit my Pop for his 90th birthday! We first went for lunch, which all of us had pizzas made in the wood fire oven. The food was great and so was the homemade lemonade we had. Not only is the food excellent, and all home-made and home grown by the owners themselves, the view from the restaurant is breath taking. One thing I love about Amherst Cove is the great view every where you go, but to be able to eat on the porch or inside and see that same great view is the best of both worlds! On our second visit to Katie's restaurant, we made reservations for our party of 9 for a birthday and everything was set up for us when we arrived. We felt right at home when Shane and Katie dimmed the lights and brought out a Chocolate Carrot Cake for my Pop and joined in singing Happy birthday to him. They both know my grandfather personally so it was extra special to have them making our meal on his birthday. It was also awesome to have an entire Cocoa carrot cake for us to indulge in, thanks to Katie making our special request come true.
This is a great place to eat. Will go back again next time we're in Newfoundland

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    80
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our 2nd, 3rd and 4th visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

So we are hooked on this heavenly restaurant. I am not sure how anyone can find fault with this place. The food is amazing! As for the owners, I would have to say that if you feel the you were not welcome it is to bad. I am sure that the problem would have been that they were sooo busy that a hello just did not find it's way to you. The couple are warm and welcoming and enjoy meeting new people. The food is good and the menu changes according to what is in season.
We just celebrated my father in law's 90th birthday there. It was the perfect place to share a meal and a bottle of wine ( that we brought).
I hope that this review encourages more people to pay them a visit. Be sure to ask for the chocolate carrot cake. Then you can describe it somehow!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank superbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmans Cove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The owners of this establishment will make you feel like family, unlike what a previous reviewer had to say. They must have looked and behaved as second class or no class when they showed up.
The pizza is definitely worth eating and the Chocolate Carrot cake is to die for.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAB2051955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza and glorious sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here after hiking the Skelink trail and driving along the coast. Started by visiting the goats and then were able to sit at the bar (they only have a few tables...I would suggest booking). Rhubard lemonade lovely (though we wish we had remembered to bring some beer or wine) and excellent pizzas. We watched ours sizzling in the oven. The parsnip soup needed more seasoning....I think it would be very good with curried spices. And the evening sunset was a stunner after a lovely warm day. Do visit this place so they stay in business as they are a real gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank profd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A must go place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved this place, went for lunch twice and dinner once. They don't have a lot of seating, so a reservation is good to have. It's a new restaurant, I think the only wood fired oven on the island, with a young chef who will do well. There are raised beds and gardens were organic produce for the restaurant grows, including wonderful greens and garlic, which you don't see enough of in Newfoundland. The pizza is made to order with a tomato or pesto base, and is the best pizza I have ever eaten at a restaurant. We also had soup, roasted parsnip, pan fried cod, it could have used some lemon or sauce, and really good salad, followed by crime brûlée, also the rhubarb lemonade as mentioned before was really nice. The view is wonderful. It's really in the middle of a small village, and you have to watch for the signs, but full of people all the times we were there. The bread is the best! well worth the extra effort to find.lovely friendly people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonavista Social Club also viewed

Bonavista, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 
Bonavista, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 

Been to Bonavista Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing