We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay so far in neufoundland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed here during our cross neufoundland road trip. The place was beautiful and the hosts so very friendly! Breakfast was fantastic! We had the larger room. So comfortable. Had the best sleep! This place was our best stay so far and we've been traveling for a week and a half! Highly recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 38 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Recently stayed at the Butlers B and B. had a wonderful time. Herb and Janice great hosts and the room was spectacular .herbmade a wonderful breakfast and provided great conversation and visitor tips for Bonavista. First time bed and breakfast travellers and could not ask for anything better. Will be back. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tpwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early August 2012. We had the larger room and it was very comfortable for 3 nights. Janice and Herb were great hosts. Breakfast was wonderful each morning and yes, step outside and you are at sea. Bonavista is a beautiful area and we are glad we stayed 3 nights. This is a wonderful spot and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If staying for more than one night the larger room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ottawavisitor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Not to say that any of the other B&Bs were shabby but Butler's had everything a traveler may need. Comfortable beds , quiet, awsome breakfast prepared by Janice and Herb. When we recomended it to other travelers who we met in Tors Cove they immediately called to book there. Have to thank Jason also for a history lesson on the area too. Butlers by the Sea is #1 in my books

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bridgenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

When i called Janice to book a room for my friend and I, she informed me they did not have any rooms with seperate beds available - however, they did have the family cottage. We jumped at the opportunity to stay in our own two bedroom cottage. The place was lovely. About two hundred years old, very cosy right across from the beach. We were thrilled to have our own cooking facilities. Fraser (Janice's brother) was our landlord. He was fun, friendly and very helpful.
We loved our time in and around Bonavista, made even better by our accomodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed in Fisherman Jim's room, which was nicely decorated, comfortable, and cozy. Our hosts were helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday2011taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Herbert and Janice were an amazing couple. We asked for the larger room since that was recommended on Tripadvisor and we thrilled with it. Herbert recommend a great place to eat and where to go to see the Puffins and some great views of the ocean. Breakfast was great - home made buns by Janice and home made jam by Herbert along with fruit and poached egges. We would highly recommend staying with them while in Bonavista. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale-White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
0.9 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
127 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
1.5 mi away
HI Bonavista Hostel
HI Bonavista Hostel
#6 of 6 in Bonavista
12 reviews
22.1 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Butler Cresent, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Price Range: $99 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butler's By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing