We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Jewel”
Review of Russelltown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Russelltown Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were two Manitoba couples who were lucky enough to have stayed one night at Jubilee B & B during a visit to Newfoundland's Bonavista area in August. The home has heritage designation, is authentically restored, yet has comfy beds, in room bathrooms and even a laundry facility- should you need it.
The owners/manager are offsite, but arrange to meet you as needed and greet you with information to make your stay comfortable. In the morning Gladys was back to set out a lovely breakfast at the appointed time.
There is a comfortable sitting room that one is free to use with a very interesting album that pictorally documents the house restoration. There are several restaurant options close by- either on foot or a short car hop. The location is great for walking and would be a convenient option for a multi day stay as a base when exploring the area.
We would highly recommend Jubilee as a great stay when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CookieManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Russelltown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place had it all, the owners did not live on the premises, BUT, the manager waited for us to arrive, she waits for everyone no matter what time they are going to arrive, at this point she informed you of all you needed to know about the B&B plus any immediate questions you had, there was a list of numbers in each room that allowed you to call them if you had any other questions after she had left. Breakfast was not fried (thank goodness), you can have toooo many of them when you are on vacation, but trust me there was lots to eat, home made muffins, bagels, fresh bread for toasting, tea & coffee, cereal and fruit, think I have it all covered.
Most of all "WE HAD THE HOSTESS WITH THE MOSTES", GLADYS was a treasure, she come to prepare the table for breakfast & when you came down it was there, ready & waiting.
Thanks Jubilee House & take care of our Gladys.
Pam & Bob

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful B & B for three nights. The house is immaculate, roomy and so cozy that you will not want to leave. We had a big, bright room with a fireplace and ensuite bathroom. Wooden floors with brightly coloured rooms are so inviting - the main level has a sitting room, dining area and kitchen. Gladys will make you feel welcome and part of the family. She is caring, helpful and has an amazing sense of humour. She provides a wonderful breakfast each morning and loves to listen and contribute to the conversation of each guest. We would highly recommend this authentic Bonavista B&B. Thank you Gladys for an amazing stay, your friendship and the incredible service you provide to each and every guest. You are truly one in a million !! Mike & Karen (Ryder)

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are not normally B & B enthusiasts but Jubilee House is extra special; we stayed two days but wish we could have stayed more. Jubilee House has been authentically restored and the photo album showing its restoration is fascinating. I think there are 4 rooms and guests have free use of lounge, dining room etc. as Gladys comes in each morning to organise breakfast and in evening to check security and lights - otherwise it feels like your own home. We had the Cabot Room which is very very comfortable. Gladys was amazingly helpful and accommodating but not intrusive. We were able to wash and dry our clothes which is rare in short-term accommodation. We did some long walks (one much longer than planned due to us not heeding Gladys' advice!!) and coming home to Jubilee House to a welcomed bath and a glass of wine in the front yard on very comfortable chairs was perfect. Over breakfast we met fellow guests and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

On reflection we wish we had based ourselves there for the whole time we explored the peninsula rather than move every couple of days. It is an easy drive back to Trinity, to the puffins at Elliston, and to various small out ports. We would recommend anyone spending the weekend or a week on Bonavista peninsula to use Jubilee House as a base and do day trips to other villages. We stayed the previous night at Trinity and it was more expensive and less comfortable by far! I can imagine a group of friends or family (using all four rooms) having an amazing time using Jubilee House as a base.We travel internationally every year for work and leisure and our stay at Jubilee House was one of our most relaxed and comfortable.

Room Tip: Cabot room is great as I think it is the largest with a very large bathroom but from what we could s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuthKiwi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Gladys was a very helpful hostess, and both my husband and i were impressed with the lovely home. I would recommend Jubilee house to other couples! The location of the home was ideal, and within walking distance to attractions in Bonavista, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Jubilee House! Gladys was a very entertaining hostess! The room was charming, the house is immaculate, the continental breakfast was great! I would recommend Jubilee House to anyone and everyone! A most delightful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Jubilee was much more than my husband and I thought it would be. Ed and Joan Abbott, along with Ed's sister, Gladys, are the kind of folk everyone should meet at a Bed and Breakfast. They certainly made us feel at home from the first moment we meet them. The bonus was to have such a lovely room with such a huge bathroom all in a beautiful soothing blue. And as our one day stay ended, we got to meet some lovely people at breakfast where we enjoyed a delicious meal and great coffee!

Our stay at the Jubilee was genuinely appreciative because I believe that the host and hostess there realize how important the surroundings and their hospitality really is to strangers who always depend on a good night's rest and a good breakfast in the morning.

Would love to go back if we visit Bonavista again in the future! Thank you for making us feel at home!

Room Tip: The blue room facing the street!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fronie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
1.2 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
21.5 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
#1 of 1 in Port Rexton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#2 of 2 in Port Union
23 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
38 reviews
22.8 mi away
Artisan Inn
Artisan Inn
#1 of 11 in Trinity
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russelltown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russelltown Inn

Address: 134 Coster Street, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada (Formerly Jubilee House Bed & Breakfast)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Price Range: $110 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a history of serving guests for over a decade, Russelltown Inn welcomes you with a tradition of Newfoundland hospitality, rich heritage, and all the conveniences a modern traveler requires. The Inn is located in the quiet, historic residential neighborhood of "Russelltown", just minutes from Downtown Bonavista and within walking distance to the harbour, shops, museums, and an array of great restaurants. The Russelltown Inn is designed with you in mind, allowing guests the privacy of a hotel with the charm of a bed and breakfast. Rooms are located throughout the property in multiple restored heritage buildings. We've tailored each room, our hospitality and amenities to make your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. We hope that our attention to detail shines through each moment of your stay. We are pleased to offer a breakfast menu developed by Red Seal Chef Katie Hayes of the Bonavista Social Club. Chef Hayes not only loves cooking with fresh Newfoundland ingredients but has developed a breakfast menu inspired by the same. Breakfast will feature Bonavista Social Club homemade bread baked daily from the only commercial wood-fired bread oven in Newfoundland and Labrador as well as fresh free-range eggs and Nanny Hayley's Jams & Jellies. These jams and jellies contain no preservatives and are made from recipes dating back to the mid 1800's. The recipes originated from the Cape Shore in Bonavista and were handed through the generations. All of Nanny Hayley's jams are made from wild berries, handpicked in the Bonavista area. Breakfast is included with your stay. Hiking, iceberg, whale and bird-watching nearby. Walking distance from historic sites, Garrick Theatre, restaurants and coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Russelltown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russelltown Inn Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing