We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Especially Desserts”
Review of MIFFLIN'S Tea Room

MIFFLIN'S Tea Room
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Bonavista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ideally located on the main street of Bonavista across from the Post Office and a 30 second walk to MIFFLIN'S HERITAGE INN & the Garrick Theatre. This tastefully decorated,handicap accessable tea room is part of a 1906 historic home featuring breakfast, lunches, NEW Dinner Menu,some traditional Nfld. food, lots of homemade desserts,an outdoor patio and fully licenced. Come join us in a true family setting with a relaxed atmosphere and great home cooking.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food - Especially Desserts”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great food

Salad was fresh
Fish was great and delicious
Try the Berry crumble or Caramel Cheesecake
Very well priced

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at MIFFLIN'S Tea Room, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Your simple review says it all. THANKS for noting the VALUE you received for the delicious food we served. Cheers Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    80
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Loved Mifflins! The atmosphere was fantastic. We enjoyed coffee and fresh lemonade on the cute patio as wonderful aromas of home cooked food wafted from the kitchen. Food was excellent and the desserts are amazing (especially the partridgeberry tart!). We tried fish & brewis for the first time and enjoyed it. We highly recommend Mifflins for dinner or lunch when in Bonavista!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MLHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at MIFFLIN'S Tea Room, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
THANKS ! So glad we delivered and met your expectations. This is the type of experience I expect ALL my customers to enjoy. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quaint & Charming”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Myself & my husband recently visited Mifflin's Tea Room in Bonavista. They specialize in Newfoundland dishes & everything is homemade. We had the fish cakes & lemon meringue pie. Delicious! Definitely worth the wait & a must see on your list whenever you are in Bonavista.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank smlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at MIFFLIN'S Tea Room, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for your visit and excellent "quaint & charming " review. Our fish cakes do get alot of rave reviews and as for the desserts... WELL... what can I say??? THANKS. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port aux Basques, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wow this place was amazing. Our meals were all homemade and absolutely delicious and the homemade desserts are to die for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at MIFFLIN'S Tea Room, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hi Debbie: I guess the secret is now out. LOL . "Homemade & Amazing" sums it up. Please do visit us again. Thanks for the review Cheers Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming & delicious! Home cooking done right!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Amazing Home Cooked food! Everything is made from scratch when you order it so don't be in a hurry - but it will be worth the wait. Real Newfoundland food cooked with love & served with warm hospitality. Desserts to die for and the widest selection of teas I've ever seen. Don't miss this gem.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank torontolove2travelb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at MIFFLIN'S Tea Room, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Your caption says it all !!!. A big thanks for visiting and another for your creative review. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MIFFLIN'S Tea Room also viewed

Bonavista, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 
Bonavista, Newfoundland
Bonavista, Newfoundland
 

Been to MIFFLIN'S Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing