We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Lancaster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancaster Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We can echo the positive comments of other reviewers. The 5 room house is purpose-built a few years ago as a B&B. It is spacious, well appointed and well kept. Note that this is not an "historic" house and does not have ocean views, but for the quality of the accommodations it is first rate. Hearty and friendly breakfast, with toast made from fresh homemade bread is included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmons_NL_CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a 3-year old bed and breakfast with a modern look, not the old style type B & B. It had 5 rooms available for use. The owners must be the trusting type. When we made the reservation, the owner told us that if she wasn't there when we arrived that our room key would be on the desk with a note attached. We found out when talking with the owner at breakfast that she actually lives in a close nearby town.

This B & B is beautifully decorated and very clean. It has laminate floors throughout.

We had a nice size room with a queen bed and beautifully decorated. It had a private bath all in one room. There was a tub with shower. Wonderful shower. Bath towels were fantastic. Had a very comfortable bed. Had a flat screen TV with good channel lineup.

No business center. Had a common area for guests.

Full hot breakfast was very good--scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, yogurt, coffee, juice. If you are there for more than one night, there is a rotation on the type of breakfast.

You will be pleased with this modern type of B & B. So try it when in the Bonavista area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

What a treasure this place is, great value, seems brand new, clean and very tastefully decorated.. We were made to feel at home and encouraged to make ourselves comfortable. Breakfast was home made, I never seen such perfectly cooked bacon! I would definately recommend the Lancaster Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms are missing nothing, spotless and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Beautiful new house, great furnishings, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast-- all in a town well worth the visit despite very unpredictable weather.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillx1sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We loved our stay at the Lancaster Inn. The rooms were large, comfortable and extremely well appointed. The house itself is full of lovely art collections that compliment Newfoundland, which is great since I am not from NL and got to enjoy local art work. Breakfast was delicious....very filling and hearty! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This new Inn in Bonavista is modern, clean and comfortable. The Innkeeper, Harriet, is friendly and pleasant and makes sure that your stay is enjoyable. The food is homecooked, hot, and delicious. I will visit here again.

Pam Lahey

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_lahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I was sent to Bonavista by a B&B operator in St John's. Said this place was brand new and opened by his friends father to give the area some more options. The place was flawless. Everything was brand new and immaculate. I am not quite certain that I woudl want to pick Bonavista as my retirement residence but a couple of days there in the late summer is spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Peters_618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
0.1 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HI Bonavista Hostel
HI Bonavista Hostel
#6 of 6 in Bonavista
12 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bird Island Inn B&B
Bird Island Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Inn

Address: 219 Confederation Drive, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Inn Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing