We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean, but a little flouncy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Bonavista B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean house, with nice touches like menus for local restaurants, cotton swabs in the bathroom and iron and board in the room and high quality mattress. The hosts are warm and friendly and very helpful. Good central location.The room, like almost every establishment, has space for only one suitcase, although there are usually two people in the room. The house decor was Christmas themed (in June) and the room decor was quite flouncy, to the point of no room to store all the pillows, double layers of blinds, a large bouquet of silk flowers on the dresser; the kind of atmosphere that makes men scared to move.

Room Tip: The back bedroom might be a little roomier.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gswrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Abbott's, we felt right at home. Preston & Rowena are such nice, welcoming & fun people. They couldn't do enough for us. We spent 4 nights with them & loved it. The view from their deck (which is available to the guests) is beautiful. The house is very clean & nicely decorated. You have a choice of several things for breakfast & we never left the table hungry. Preston's tips on the local restaurants came in handy for lunch & supper. We're very glad that we chose this place & would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguinlady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I spent one night at Abbot's B&B in Bonavista NL. The owners were extremely nice, welcoming, and friendly, the room and private bath very clean, the whole property and the house well maintained. The location is on the ocean, we saw icebergs from the backyard. We highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogdan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

A little off the road so it can be missed. Very nice home with nicely decorated bedroom with plenty of room and queen size bed. Being off the main road helps keep it quiet. Good views of the area and Atlantic from the rest deck of the house. Slackius grounds too. Main living room available to guests. Owner Prescott and his wife are available and quite approachable for area advice.
Great breakfast with homemade bread and jams . Awesome pancakes loaded with local blueberries.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foamboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stay at this B&B for one night at our trip through Newfoundland. This is exactly the kind of place you envisioned when you want to stay at a B&B. The hosts were wonderful and thoughtful. I had the best sleep of our stay even though we had the worst weather that night. The breakfast was very good and big. Most important they asked you what you want for breakfast. We had blueberry pancakes, eggs, toast and juice. I would highly recommend this place to everyone. The only small negative thing is the smaller than the usual hotel room, but more than sufficient to make you comfortable.

Room Tip: A great place to eat is Nanny's Root Cellar in Elliston. Great Seafood and Newfie food.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gggaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We reached Bonavista a little late in the evening and was greeted by a very hospitable Preston. He welcomed us to his and Rowena's home. They have a beautiful B&B situated very close to everything. Preston helped us with everything we wanted. It was being like home away from home. The breakfast was great especially the blue berry pancakes..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrineandmathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had a great stay at Abbott's Cape Shore B&B. Rowena and Preston were very hospitable and opened their beautiful home to their guests. The rooms are quite small but when you have the use of the house you don't want to spend all your time in your room anyway. Breakfasts were excellent. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anybody travelling to Bonavista

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlelizzie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
1.0 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
123 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
White's Bed & Breakfast
White's Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 9 in Bonavista
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#7 of 9 in Bonavista
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast

Address: 121 Cape Shore Road, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bonavista
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed And Breakfast Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing