We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and noisy.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bonavista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbour Quarters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonavista
Certificate of Excellence
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced and noisy.”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed just one night at this inn in mid July. We had an ocean view which we paid extra for.We checked in about 4 pm and found the room clean and pleasant. Just outside our window however, there were 2 excavators working on clearing ground for a new boardwalk and the noise was unbearable with our window open ,and annoying even with it closed. There was a notice in our room re the construction, but no notification in advance of our arrival. Not being able to open the window, I opted to turn on the air conditioning but we had no remote for the ac unit and cound not work it manually. We were told that there was nothing they could do. Sooo....window up and table top fan on all night until 7:20 am, at which time the excavators started up again!! (the notice stated that they may start as early as 8 am). During the evening and night there was also a noise sounding like a compressor cutting in about every 10 minutes or so. Upon checkout we complained about the ac and the noise and were discounted $20. Even without the excavators, I feel that this inn is overpriced. We ate at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the cost the ocean view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettystanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our large room overlooked the harbor and was within waking distance of a lot of the nearby sites we wanted to visit. We ate one night in the restaurant, just OK. The rooms were clean and although we were warned about some construction happening nearby it never materialized. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We opted to try this hotel for a night while in Bonavista instead of a B&B. I would probably recommend a B&B over this hotel. While the room was nice and we had a harbour view, I felt the cost did not justify the experience. The noise levels were high. We stayed in three B&Bs while in NFLD and we did not hear our neighbors. In this hotel, you could every conversation surrounding you and especially in the hall way. We paid less for B&Bs and had breakfast included in the cost. They had pillow shams on the bed but no pillows in them. The one pillow that was provided was flat. It didn't disrupt my sleep but I did find it odd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in a town of Bonavista. The hotel is very clean and cozy. They also had a restaurant and the seafood was just so amazing and fresh. We took a Puffin tour that is located next to the hotel. There is a small museum that you can go in and take a look. The puffin bird tour is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very comfortable accoms with breathtaking views on the Harbour side. Friendly and courteous staff are very accomodating and helpful. This is the kind of place you look forward to going back to.

Room Tip: Choose the Harbourside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nice, friendly "country side type" hotel. Located at the harbour (what's in the name). Stayed one night with a group of 7; three rooms. Ours overlooked the harbour and was really nice. Cape Bonavista is a 15 minute drive (nice after dinner outing). The restaurant is okay: simple but tasty food. If you like beer: take an "Iceberg" , only sold in Newfoundland.
Breakfast was what you expect. Good but nothing special.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japiotje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We spent a very pleasant, quiet night in this Inn. Although it was cloudy and rainy while we were there, the harbour view was still a great choice. What a treat to see the icebergs! The room was very, very clean and well-appointed with locallly made furniture. We were also grateful for the elevator to the Inn rooms above the restaurant. Plenty of parking, too. Breakfast in the restaurant (included) was very good. Good service; great choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryC508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonavista
1.4 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
21.3 mi away
HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel
1.3 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#1 of 2 in Elliston
35 reviews
1.4 mi away
White's Bed & Breakfast
White's Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Bonavista
49 reviews
22.4 mi away
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
Trinity Eco-Tours Lodge
#4 of 11 in Trinity
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Quarters Inn

Property: The Harbour Quarters Inn
Address: 42 Campbell Street, Bonavista, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Bonavista
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonavista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Harbour Quarters Inn Bonavista, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing