We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned, but popular!”
Review of Carman's Diner

Carman's Diner
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in St. Stephen
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, but popular!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having read the reviews, we had to try Carman's. From the outside, it looks very attractive, with its window boxes of petunias cascading almost to the ground. However, once inside, you see that the place hasn't been modernised in aeons! The menu was adequate - if you like fish. If you're a meat or fish lover, you'll be spoiled for choice, however, there's very little to tempt a vegetarian, unfortunately. Some meat-free salads would have been nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    60
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this place because it is so old fashioned, so local, so clean and so pleasant.
We had eggs and toast and home fries and a Big Pancake! Delicious! With coffee, total price $13.30! I call that very reasonable.
Very nice, friendly service.
The petunias cascading from the window boxes make a spectacular sight.
We go to St Stephen often and will definitely return to Carman's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellykabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
291 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Stepping into a time warp....”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you haven't been to a 50s or 60s, diner lately, and I can't imagine you could have been because there're aren't many, if any, around you've gotta stop in this place.

Wow, the decor hasn't changed since....well, since ever. Talk about nostalgia, with the possible exception of the prices.

Old juke boxes and tunes, looks like the original swivel stools and booths, the menu is classic old time diner, and the food is diner quality food. In other words "FTG" aka "fill the gap".

Glad we stopped in while we were overnighting in the area. Not sure if I'd go out of my way to eat here but it was well worth the experience.

Check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jax14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arm, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

While staying at the Winsome Inn, we were recommended to this diner. The waitress was friendly. This was down-home food, cooked and seasoned well, served with humor and a pleasant attitude, and reasonably priced. And who doesn't love retro jukeboxes? Go there if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornelis 'Kees' O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nostalgia at it's best.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Carmen's has been around for YEARS! Good old home cooking. I've had breakfast here for years. It's very good. This kind of place seem to be slipping away into history. But, Carmen's always has a crowd breakfast. Give it a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carman's Diner also viewed

St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 

Been to Carman's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing