We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny booths decent food for an area without many options” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carman's Diner

Carman's Diner
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in St. Stephen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiny booths decent food for an area without many options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We were told Carmans is the place to go in St. Stephen. The booths were tiny for a family of 5 so we eventually spread out into 2 once more were open. Food was typical diner quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    57
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old time dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an excellent option if you feel like a homey meal or typical 60's dinner experience. Many items on the menu, great pie options. The service was excellent, very efficient. Price is very good. Around 10$ for a Salisbury steak platter. (Homemade mash potato, vegetables and coleslaw included).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Local flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you want to know what's going on in Saint Stephens, eat at Carmen's Diner. It has been there forever. The trains used to go by regularly on the nearby tracks. All the buildings and properties around it have been sold off, including the "Better Duck Inn" motor court that was built back in the Model T touring days. Franchised food chains have come and some have left. Carmen's is still there. It's great diner food too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Special_Deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good food in an old building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Carman's is an institution in the St.Stephen area. It is an old diner and I think the stools at the counter were the original ones on Noah's ark. Honestly, they need to put a little money into the business, because the first impression is not a good one.

However, we needed a place for breakfast, we had eaten there before and the selection in St.Stephen is minimal.

Once you get past the dated decor, stained ceiling tiles, etc...the food is good and the prices are excellent.They do a good business, with a lot of local business. The waitresses are friendly, cheerful and attentive.

Just look past the stools at the counter!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K.C.NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to your restaurant. The friendly service wow! You were a part of my trip to N.B. We had a burger the first day. It was homemade... nice to see. The next day we came for breakfast. My sister ordered the big breakfast and she was a happy traveler hungry from a journey of almost 2000 miles. The seats were redone but the nostalgia is where i wanted to see it. I'm glad I made time to visit a place from my childhood. Heres to the next 50 years!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carman's Diner also viewed

St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 

Been to Carman's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing