We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who doesn't like chocolate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocolate Museum

Chocolate Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in what used to be the original Ganong candy factory, The Chocolate Museum offers an interactive way to learn about candy making in St. Stephen - a tradition that has lasted over a century. Explore the history of the Ganong family and the wonder of chocolate with our hands-on exhibits, interactive computer displays, historic chocolate boxes, and antique candy-making equipment. All of Ganong's hand-crafted products are made right here in the museum, allowing you to observe our famous hand dippers at work. Come to the Chocolate Museum to see why St. Stephen is known as "Canada's Chocolate Town", and don't forget to indulge in unlimited Ganong chocolates!
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Who doesn't like chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have to start by saying the staff at the Chocolate Museum are super-friendly and really want to be of assistance. Upon arriving at the Museum, the first thing they did was offer us a chocolate while we watched the video about the history of Ganong. Afterwards, one of the staff went through some of the interactive displays with us and then we went through the rest of the museum on our own. Yes, there were lots of opportunities to try the chocolates. I think one of our favourite interactive displays was the chocolate box sorting. A time clock is in place while you try to put the chocolates in the box in the order shown on the display. The time to beat is 17 seconds. Good luck!

After the museum, we went to the Ganong store along located on the property and purchased all kinds of tasty treats.

If you're in the area, be sure to stop in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank justjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    9
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Love the history and the store as well! I always take chocolate from here back with me. Everyone loves it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank srussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'm looking at all these positive reviews and wondering if I am seeing the right place, but this was it. You can walk through the entire place in under three minutes - 15 if you take the time to read every single display. You can fit the entire "museum" in a 700 sq foot house and have room to spare. It was also grotesquely overpriced. They would have been better served if the museum was free and they charged for the chocolates (not to mention the product was of simply average quality and if you weren't given samples you might be inclined to buy some after your brief stroll).

Don't get me wrong, it was interesting and the staff was extremely polite but to call this place a "museum" is a stretch... And to charge admission - that is a crime.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sedona1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatemuseum, Manager at Chocolate Museum, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you found our staff polite and our topic interesting, but are sorry that you weren't pleased with your visit to the Museum. We expanded the Museum several years ago and added many new exhibits and displays. A typical self-guided tour takes anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour and a guided tour (which is offered for free and offers additional stories and information) takes between one hour and an hour and a half.

The Chocolate Museum is a non-profit museum, it is not owned or operated by any business, and therefore we need to charge admission to cover our costs of doing business. We haven't raised our prices in two years and are very careful to ensure that we are competitive with other museums and attractions in the province. We are also one of the few places (and certainly one of the few museums) that offers free chocolate samples to our guests. We aren't able to please everyone that comes through our doors, but we do strive to offer interesting information about chocolate and the Ganong family, who have been making candy here in our town for 140 years. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to our province and that you'll come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sweet!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice little museum... Definate sugar overload.... You get to eat chocolates all the way through it! Good place to take a break when traveling as it doesn't take long to go through and gives you a good insight into the history of one of the towns oldest employers. Worth the visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swnber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Creative exhibits, average chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The museum in St. Stephens is worth a visit if you are crossing the border at Calais. It has fascinating information about the history and production of chocolate, and the exhibits are well thought out. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, which made the visit even more enjoyable. My only caveat is the quality of the chocolate (Canada's Ganong family product), which is okay but not up to the many outstanding chocolate products that I've been eating for years. But the museum is still a great place to find out about how your beloved glorious chocolate products are created and produced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Museum also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
 
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
St. Stephen, New Brunswick
 

Been to Chocolate Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing