We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 St. Stephen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed just one night in this B&B but had a great experience. We arrived last minute but were luckily able to get a room. The inn was great but the best part was certainly the owners. David was so accommodating, friendly, and wanted to make sure our experience was perfect. The breakfast was delicious and there were plenty of options. The inn in within walking distance to the downtown which was convenient for dinner. If we are ever in the area again, we will certainly stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
90
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent one night at the Blair House and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We stayed in a comfortable, quiet room on the main floor. We opted for the room with a double bed and were surprised at its spaciousness (room for a commode, writing desk, nightstand, etc). It was well kept and all the details were covered (from the list of television channels, to the provision of a thorough binder outlining where to eat, what to do and what to see in St. Stephen).

David, the host, could not have been more helpful and engaging. I was very happy to receive an email with directions to the Inn in advance of our stay, as well as all the "need to knows" about the property and its features.

The breakfast room was particularly delightful. I concur with others who stated that the breakfast was top notch, as was the inviting tea and cookie table provided to guests who might be in need of an evening snack. This charming, cozy inn makes for a lovely stay in St. Stephen.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaMay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

David, Judy and Gareth provide outstanding service. Hospitality is great. Rooms clean and food fantastic. Location is good. Easy accessibily.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiatraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I was in St Stephen for only one night, and stayed at the Blair House because it was close to the hospital. My room was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. David (the host) was very friendly and welcoming, and he cooks a great breakfast!
I will definitely stay there again, next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Henrietta Room, and was very happy with it. The bathroom was dated, but it was spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StCroixRiverPaddler, Owner at Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay Jennifer while in St. Stephen on work-study at the Charlotte County hospital. Hopefully you can come for a weekend getaway with your husband this Summer. Thanks, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here en route from NS to Ont. I settled in to a perfect room for a person travelling alone - cozy but with its own bathroom including a clawfoot tub. After a short walk along the water to the recommended restaurant in town, I came back to herbal tea and cookies and a long bath. It was what was needed. The room I was in had maybe a bit too much in the way of furniture pieces, given it was not a large room. The others I saw through open doors on the morning as I was leaving appeared spacious and very comfortable for couples. Skip the chocolate factory in town but do enjoy an evening walk.

Room Tip: I'd suggest the second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greentara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We (a 60-ish couple) picked this property partly based on favorable reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed! We took a week's vacation in "Downeast" Maine and opted for a side-trip just over the border to St. Stephen and St Andrews, NB, and reserved a night at Blair House in early Nov 2011.

This is a grand Victorian house, both outside and inside, meticulously set up for the guest, and convenient to downtown St Stephen in a quiet neighborhood.

Our host, David, made us feel entirely welcome and at home. He set out an evening tea at about 8 PM. He is an easy conversationalist and has just the right personality for this job while leaving us enough "space" to rest up and relax on our own. Breakfast was outstanding with a "full English" offering but we opted for some great blueberry pancakes instead. The dining room is partly a conservatory with large plants against a bank of east-facing windows (where we were fortunate to enjoy a clear sunrise - not guaranteed at this time of year!). The lodging, evening tea, breakfast and overall experience were well worth the reasonable rate. The house strikes the perfect balance between historical presence and modern convenience. If you just want modern I'm sure there's a Holiday Inn or Marriott for that.

We look forward to returning to explore this area (bring passports) and as a stopover between our home north of Boston and points east such as PEi, Nova Scotia, Fundy National Park, etc. BTW, remember this location is on Atlantic Time or you might miss breakfast!

The B&B's website is very comprehensive and helped us evaluate this property. Oh, there is free WiFi which we as photographers were happy to use in our work.

Room Tip: Check the very descriptive website. There are 4 guestrooms upstairs and 1 on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good welcome and offered tea and coffee making facilities
Well appointed rooms
Limited choice of restaurants in the town
Owner very helpful when I left something he posted it on
Excellent breakfast very well presented and well cooked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandS60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Stephen
0.6 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
22.5 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Breeze Inn
Casa Breeze Inn
#2 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scoodic Motel
Scoodic Motel
#3 of 7 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn

Property: Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
Address: 38 Prince William St, St. Stephen, New Brunswick E3L 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Stephen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Stephen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay of Fundy starts here in southwestern New Brunswick, Canada. Blair House welcomes you to St. Stephen - Canada's chocolate town and gateway to Atlantic Canada and New England. Canada Select 4-Star Bed & Breakfast. A choice of five bedrooms with reasonable rates in a quiet central location makes inviting family, friends or business clients easy. Bedrooms feature private ensuite bathrooms, free secure Wi-Fi, air-conditioning (Summer); and evening tea and a full-cooked breakfast in the morning. Experience 25 ft. tides on the St. Croix River just below our home. Enjoy the warmth and hospitality of a British-style B & B with the personal privacy appreciated at an Inn or hotel. Conveniently located in a quiet town setting just across the St. Croix river from Calais, Maine. A relaxing stop-over along the Bay of Fundy coastal scenic drive on your way to and from points east in Atlantic Canada and south in to New England. In 2015 we are celebrating our 28th season welcoming guests from around the world to our bed and breakfast in southwestern New Brunswick. Friendly service, a relaxing atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, plus memorable breakfasts and evening tea are features that draw old friends back to Blair House year after year. A leisurely one-hour morning drive to Saint John and the Digby ferry. A convenient stop-over to and from Hopewell Rocks and Fundy National Park; the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island; Halifax, Nova Scotia; Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; and the ferry to Newfoundland & Labrador. Take an extra day or two to enjoy a variety of sights and activities along our Charlotte Coastal Region. After a relaxing stay with us, try other B & B's in New Brunswick. We are a pleasant alternative for those traveling on business. Ask about multi-night stay savings. Our home is smoke-free inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing