We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place to Come Back To”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Martins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Martins Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 St. Martins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gouldsboro, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Place to Come Back To”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our third stay at the Inn and we'll keep coming back. The Inn is a marvelous old ship builder's home, has beautiful grounds, a well-behaved and friendly inn dog, and gracious and accommodating owners. The area, while a bit isolated, is within easy driving distance of several interesting attractions, not the least of which are the murals in Sussex, about a half hour or so from St. Martins. The owner loves to cook and is the principal chef for their inn restaurant; the food was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    18
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay immensely at this charming country inn perched on a hill above the Bay of Fundy in New Brunswick. It is located in a magnificent Victorian structure that has been lovingly restored and preserved and which has excellent views of the Bay. The grounds are well groomed and attractive. Unfortunately for us the weather was miserable during our one night stay but this was not the inn's fault. We were disappointed that we were not able to better explore the Fundy Trail, sea caves, and scenery of this intriguing area. But we did enjoy our stay at the Inn. Because of the weather we were the only guests at the time. We received a bay view room which was cozy and comfortable. Michelle and her father were personable and attentive. We chose to dine at the Inn and had an excellent meal. We would unhesitatingly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My Fiance and I chose this beautiful Inn for a number of perfect reasons: The grand beauty of the Inn's presence, its location, view of the bay, privacy off the road, wonderful, friendly staff, touring the Inn, fabulous seafood, accomodations...absolutely everything!!!!
The Inn is as breath-taking on the inside as it is on the outside. From a grand entrance to a very welcoming, beautiful historic interior. It is perfect for a weekend getaway ,a vacation, a wedding, family gathering, fine dining, photography,a tour of the grounds and most of all the wonderful and amazing family that run the Inn. You will get information and interesting facts about the Inn and They went above and beyond for my wedding and I highly recommend the Historic St.Martin's Inn for anybody's destination. We will surely be returning numerous times throughout its open season. Tamara Langstroth -Wilson

Room Tip: With the Historic St.Martin's Inn..all the bedrooms are beautifully done late 18th century. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarawilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls ont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this location. The staff are friendly and willing to assisit with any request. The Inn itself is clean, comfortable and the owners have great knowledge of the area. The Bay Of Fundy offers great trails to hike with enjoyable scenery. A definate gem.

Room Tip: Bay facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a really nice little bed and breakfast with quite a few rooms. It's built on a property with a large house built in the 1800s. It really is a beautiful property. We got a ocean view room on the top floor with a patio. It was a gorgeous location. This place dubs itself as "luxury" on it's sign but I didn't see anything luxury about it. The rooms are very nice, clean and taken care of. The whole place has a very nice antique feeling to it, including the antique furniture. There is a hot tub on site and you are free to explore the premises, including any vacant rooms. During our stay it started raining and we got a bit of wind, which actually blew the window out on to our luggage. We were able to secure the window back in (it was 5 a.m.). The smoke detector went off randomly for some reason but stopped early in the evening. I was very disappointed to find that internet access is provided only with a fee. Our breakfast was quite good, but you are given no advanced warning of what it is. It was a very nice sleep, but for the price I felt we didn't get much value for our money given the basic features. If you're looking for a nice place to stay however, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

They made us feel like we were treasured guests and at the same time very homey and comfortable. Owners couldn't do enough for us. Location was close to Sea Caves, Hopewell Rocks and the Fundy Trail. Breakfast was scruptious and plenty of food. We had dinner there one night prepared by the third best chef in Canada. Michelle made us feel like we were one of the family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DontStopExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Beautiful surroundings, gardens, ducks in the pond. Quick walk to the Bay of Fundy, Close to the Fundy Parkway. We had dinner- it was awesome. Your can peek at rooms not occupied. All furnished with antiques. Breakfast was great. Stayed in the carrige house with 2 seperate beds-very comfortable, small porch, very quite.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martins
24.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
23.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
20.2 mi away
Amsterdam Inn Quispamsis
Amsterdam Inn Quispamsis
#1 of 1 in Quispamsis
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salmon River B and B Ltd
Salmon River B and B Ltd
#2 of 4 in St. Martins
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tidal Watch Inn
Tidal Watch Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Martins
79 reviews
12.0 mi away
Moore's Specialties
Moore's Specialties
#1 of 1 in Gardner Creek
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Martins Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martins Country Inn

Property: St. Martins Country Inn
Address: 303 Main St, St. Martins, New Brunswick E5R 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Martins Country Inn was once the home of the Vaughan ship building family and boasts a commanding view of the Bay of Fundy in the historic fishing village of St. Martins, New Brunswick. This 4-star heritage property (circa 1857) is equipped with a licensed restaurant & dining room (Vaughan's). The Inn offers 16 unique guest rooms furnished with a combination of antiques, vintage decor and contemporary amenities. All guest rooms have Queen or King beds with en suite private bathrooms, free WIFI, cable television, mini-fridges & coffeemakers. Some rooms have electric fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs and/or balconies. There are also rooms which can accommodate families with two (2) Queen beds or one King bed with a pullout sofa as well as one (1) longer stay suite with two bedrooms (1 King and 1 Queen), two bathrooms, full kitchen (range, fridge, dishwasher, microwave, small appliances, serve ware & dinner ware), laundry centre, dining room, living room and Bayview balcony. Room rates range from $139 to $249 (based on double occupancy) which includes a full breakfast from our daily menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Martins Country Inn New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing