We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is top of the line !”
Review of Hearst Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Martins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hearst Lodge
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is top of the line !”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've hiked this trail several times and we have had a picnic lunch outside the lodge/ picnic fashion.
This year we decided to have lunch in the lodge and the food was incredibly delicious. Home made soups with perfect flavor and seasoning and thick homemade bread sandwiches. I had the death by chocolate dessert and have never tasted better in any 5 star restaurant.
The atmosphere is perfect and Laura and George are perfect hosts.

I do have to disagree with the treacherous review on the hike,,,I have never even found it to be very challenging. I would call it mildly moderate. I guess perspectives can be different for expectations on trails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel provides the tops in atmosphere and hospitality. It's possible to believe you are living in yesteryear. The hosts Laura and George fulfilled our every request and Laura's cooking is the tops. You will get a chance to forget about this century for awhile. Swim in the river, hike the woods, eat like a king, and leave your electronics behind. Highly recommended for a rejuvenating break.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mannette_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were excited to hike to the Hearst lodge and, being fairly fit, were not put off by the 'challenging' sign at the start of the hike. However, since the river level was very high, challenging was more like 'very treacherous' - I wasn't expecting to have to swing across streams with only a wire to grab onto. Also some of the wooden bridges crossing the streams do not have hand rails (or were broken) and are very slippy - the Fundy Trail management need to fix parts of the trail to improve safety- otherwise it would have been very enjoyable. Needless to say, we took the 4X4 transport back to the parking lot the next day.

Having said that, the actual lodge was very nice, The couple managing it, George and Laura, were very hospitable and we enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast (prepared by Laura, who is a chef),. You will not go hungry!
The rooms were fairly plain but clean and the bathroom was a good size. There were some problems with hot water while we were staying but the hosts were very apologetic about it so I assume that this isn't the norm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After a short but bouncy ride in a well used four wheel drive we arrived at the picturesque lodge, George our driver and co-host for the evening showed us why it isn't safe for private vehicles to drive into the lodge themselves. We then met Laura his wife and the other half of this dynamic duo.
We settled into our cabin which featured a very comfortable bed and all essentials. Soon it was supper time and we gathered with other guests in the main lodge and enjoyed a salmon plank supper that was beyond taste description. The evening wound down far too rapidly and we returned to our cabin and a very quiet night with no interrupting sounds at all. The next morning it was George's turn to cook and I must say I had possibly the best omelette ever, and I've had a few. This is nature at its very best. There is a wonderful swimming hole directly in front of the lodge and should be enjoyed.
This destination is on our bucket list and will be enjoyed again ..... soon.
If your a camera bug, you will love it here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

There was not a lot of info on this B&B when I made my reservation so I didn’t know what to expect. After touring the Fundy Trail all day it was a time saver not having to drive to the nearest city to find a hotel. Being a senior with health issues hiking up to it the lodge from the interpretive center was not an option so we decided to drive in with George (one of the hosts) in his truck.
It turned out to be a wonderful experience. The only thing rustic about it was the metal shower stalls which is not something that bothered us. What a surprise to find out that we were going to be treated to a gourmet supper by Laura a Professional Chef. The food was unbelievable and lots of it. Breakfast was just as delicious.
The beds were comfortable, rooms were very clean and we all had our own private bathrooms. I would recommend this lodge to anyone to wants a quiet relaxing place to get away from it all at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThunderBayNortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were looking for cycling trails in the Bay of Fundy area and came across the fundytrail website. The Hearst Lodge was listed as a small, rustic inn on the banks of a river in a secluded spot in the woods. Perfect! We didn't hike in because we were tired from cycling that day. Our accomodation was in a small cabin behind the lodge which was very basic - double bed with single bunk above, kitchenette, bathroom with old, metal shower stall - but all working fine and quite comfortable. It seemed a little damp in the cabin, but we opened all the windows and had a lovely breeze come through. We had a communal dinner in the lodge with two other couples who were great company. Laura, our host, cooked all the meals - including a big breakfast in the morning - and really made us feel very welcome. We brought in some wine (it's BYO) and sat by the river while the sun set. After breakfast the next morning we hiked out via the trail and our bags we're waiting for us at the interpretive center. It took us 1.5 hours to hike and there are some steep parts and lots of tree roots in the path so you really have to watch your step. I wish we had worn our bathing suits because you pass a few 'pools' in the river perfect for swimming. I highly recommend this unique experience. If the cabins get a little facelift I would increase my rating to 5 stars! But don't let that put you off. It really is great value for the price.

Room Tip: The cabins give you good privacy. I was told the walls between the rooms in the Lodge are paper thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IggyandTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston va
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were a little unsure of the Hearst Lodge when we located the site online. The description said that you could hike to the lodge and that an all terrain vehicle would bring your luggage. OK. We love to hike. But we did not expect the rather circuitous route to offer so much of a challenge! Following the Big Salmon River, the path to Hearst Lodge is a real heart-pumper. After about an hour you reach the small encampment of a few cabins and a log lodge. Hardly extravagant, the lodge boasts a big stone fireplace and sofa and large table to accommodate about 14-18 guests. You are welcomed by the friendly caretakers who not only show you to your room but cook the country breakfast and dinner at the lodge.This is real backwoods Canada, not a bed and breakfast that caters to the faint of heart. But the very solitude of the location: the birds, wildlife, rushing river make the scene a stunner. Relax. Swim in the river. Watch the beaver build a dam across the river for entertainment. If you are expecting luxury, this is not the place to find it. The lodge was originally a hunting and fishing lodge run by the Hearst Corporation. The government of Canada and the Fundy Trail operate it for use by the public. It is a unique way to see the Fundy Trail area. We loved it!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hike, the 4 wheel drive vehicle will take you to and from the Lodge. BUMPY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RestonVaDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martins
24.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Amsterdam
6.2 mi away
Salmon River B and B Ltd
Salmon River B and B Ltd
#2 of 4 in St. Martins
163 reviews
18.1 mi away
Moore's Specialties
Moore's Specialties
#1 of 1 in Gardner Creek
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Tidal Watch Inn
Tidal Watch Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Martins
81 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hearst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearst Lodge

Property: Hearst Lodge
Address: Fundy Trail, St. Martins, New Brunswick, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in St. Martins
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast and BBQ Maple-Glazed Planked Salmon Dinner included in price ~ The pristine wilderness setting and challenging terrain offer a variety of nature-based activities and learning discovery experiences during your all-inclusive stay at the Hearst Lodge. This is truly a one-of-a-kind adventure experience, an unparalleled opportunity to participate in a physically-active adventure travel experience along the rugged coastal topography of the Fundy Escarpment with its deep and steeply sloped river valley emptying into the Bay of Fundy. Experience wilderness living the way American newspaper baron William Randolph Hearst's friends and business associates did almost 100 years ago. The Lodge availability has three rooms - two rooms each with a double bed and a twin bed, and one room with a double bed and two twin beds each with own private bath; plus two separate cabins, each with private bath. Cabin #1 has queen size bed, a double bed and a bunk. Cabin #2 has a double size bed and a twin size bed. Let the crisp clean sheets and pine-scented fresh air lull you to sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hearst Lodge St. Martins, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing