We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first night in New Brunswick”
Review of Tidal Watch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tidal Watch Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 St. Martins B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great first night in New Brunswick”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Tidal Watch Inn for one night in July 2012 while on our honeymoon. Great location, close to Fundy Trail, world famous Sea Caves. Our room was on the second floor at the top of the stairs...HUGE ensuite with separate sitting area! Very soft bed and view of the ocean off to the left. We orderd glasses of wine to take to our room for the evening. Nice touch. Several choices for hot breakfast the following morning. Delicious! Hosts provided us with some information about the area, which was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. =)

Room Tip: Rooms on left side of house face ocean. Rooms on right side face tree-lined gorgeous entry drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The building itself is rich with history and the staff are very willing to let you know more about it and the area. The rooms had all you needed and they felt as if you stepped back in time, very quaint. We had a great supper (reasonably priced) and breakfast at the Inn where we enjoyed chatting with the friendly owners and staff. They made you feel at home. You are a close drive from the Sea Caves and Fundy Trail. The Sea Caves are amazing and the Fundy Trail is great as well, just plan for a couple hours. Beautiful scenery and quaint small town feel, St. Martins was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmot, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

In fact, we liked St. Martins so much that we bought a piece of land in West Quaco where we will eventually build our oceanside retreat. The only negative about building on our land is that we won't have an excuse to stay at the Tidal Watch Inn anymore but we will certainly drop by to visit as the owners and staff are all wonderful people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

This Inn feels more like a B&B. The owner and staff are full of historical information and are very accommodating. They are very nice and we can't say enough good things about them. I suggest staying in one of the newer buildings as they are a little more updated. The main house is pretty but the bathrooms don't have fans/vents and it isn't as private.
Overall a nice place in a small town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

An original old three level house with nice character. The quad room was good value and the breakfast a real bonus. The owner really knows the area and he is very happy to chat. There are great photos to be taken within a short distance. Eg walk to the wharf and covered bridge - 25 mins return. Most famous are the caves at low tide but there are other rocky places to explore at the end of local roads in the other direction too.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location with trees so room choice isn't a big concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We originally booked rooms at the Tidal watch inn to get ready for a wedding, intending to camp the rest of our stay. We liked it so much we stayed a week!

We had the unique experience of getting to stay in three different style rooms at this property. Due to a booking error and our after midnight arrival, we spent the first night in one of the standard rooms in the main house. This is a very "bed and breakfast style experience". These rooms are small, and sparsely furnished. Not to mention that you have to creep up the steps and not wake the rest of the house! We were moved the next day to a "captain class" room, a room in a seperate building with a jacuzzi tub, balcony, sky light and beautiful antique furnishings. It was absolutely perfect and had a much more hotel like feel. Our last night (we ended up extending by 6 days), we had a mid range room, which basically only lacked a balcony. If you're there for a while, I would also recommend their "Marco Polo" suite, which our friends had. It has a kitchen area, living area, jacuzzi and ground level balcony.

The staff were amazingly friendly, and the breakfast superb. The house and dining room is beautifully furnished and you're a short walk from the bay. The town itself is breathtaking. I can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: If you do not want to feel like you're in a bed and breakfast or you want more privacy, spend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here on our way to and from Cape Breton Island so just a stop over not a destination. We liked the easy access to the beach but it isn't the type of beach you can actually walk. We did walk to the Sea Caves from there at low tide but it was not a pleasant walk at all. All loose gravel.

The room was adequate. All we could get was an attic room with twin beds. Our window overlooked the trailer park next door. The window had an air conditioner so we couldn't get the ocean breezes.

On checking in, we were told to expect a delay for breakfast because of a large group. However, when we came down at 8:10 a.m. there was only one other couple so were seated right away.

On our second night on our return from Cape Breton, we had the same room. I was disappointed that we were not offered an upgrade even though there was availability.

We like staying in St. Martins instead of Saint John because of the small town feel and the more scenic coastline.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martins
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
20.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Amsterdam
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salmon River B and B Ltd
Salmon River B and B Ltd
#2 of 4 in St. Martins
163 reviews
11.8 mi away
Moore's Specialties
Moore's Specialties
#1 of 1 in Gardner Creek
22 reviews
22.3 mi away
Shadow Lawn Inn
Shadow Lawn Inn
#1 of 1 in Rothesay
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Watch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Watch Inn

Property: Tidal Watch Inn
Address: 16 Beach St, St. Martins, New Brunswick E5R 1C7, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Martins
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidal Watch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Tidal Watch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Watch Inn St. Martins, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing