We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property In A Beautiful Area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidal Watch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tidal Watch Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 St. Martins B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property In A Beautiful Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We originally booked rooms at the Tidal watch inn to get ready for a wedding, intending to camp the rest of our stay. We liked it so much we stayed a week!

We had the unique experience of getting to stay in three different style rooms at this property. Due to a booking error and our after midnight arrival, we spent the first night in one of the standard rooms in the main house. This is a very "bed and breakfast style experience". These rooms are small, and sparsely furnished. Not to mention that you have to creep up the steps and not wake the rest of the house! We were moved the next day to a "captain class" room, a room in a seperate building with a jacuzzi tub, balcony, sky light and beautiful antique furnishings. It was absolutely perfect and had a much more hotel like feel. Our last night (we ended up extending by 6 days), we had a mid range room, which basically only lacked a balcony. If you're there for a while, I would also recommend their "Marco Polo" suite, which our friends had. It has a kitchen area, living area, jacuzzi and ground level balcony.

The staff were amazingly friendly, and the breakfast superb. The house and dining room is beautifully furnished and you're a short walk from the bay. The town itself is breathtaking. I can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: If you do not want to feel like you're in a bed and breakfast or you want more privacy, spend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here on our way to and from Cape Breton Island so just a stop over not a destination. We liked the easy access to the beach but it isn't the type of beach you can actually walk. We did walk to the Sea Caves from there at low tide but it was not a pleasant walk at all. All loose gravel.

The room was adequate. All we could get was an attic room with twin beds. Our window overlooked the trailer park next door. The window had an air conditioner so we couldn't get the ocean breezes.

On checking in, we were told to expect a delay for breakfast because of a large group. However, when we came down at 8:10 a.m. there was only one other couple so were seated right away.

On our second night on our return from Cape Breton, we had the same room. I was disappointed that we were not offered an upgrade even though there was availability.

We like staying in St. Martins instead of Saint John because of the small town feel and the more scenic coastline.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I booked three days at the Tidal Watch Inn. We have never stayed here before or seen St Martin. We stayed in the historic bigger home and had what is considered the standard room. We absolutely loved it! The breakfasts are from a menu and you get served, not like any other inclusive breakfast we have had before. We ate with a great view of the ocean. Our room also has an ocean view and it's very relaxing. We were warmly welcomed by the owner on our arrival and the staff has been fantastic. The beach is a great place to find pretty stones or seashells. The only thing I would recommend is beach shoes to make it easier on the feet. I like to go in the water and the shoes I had were not adequate. We took two day trips, one to the fundy trail which I highly recommend and one to a local beach. Both times we took a boxed lunch that we preordered from the Tidal Watch Inn. They were healthy and delicious. The scenery is magnificent everywhere you look and the townspeople are very friendly. We explored the caves and ate some great seafood chowder at the main beach. St Martins is small but there is a lot of nature to explore and enjoy. I would highly recommend The Tidal Watch Inn as your place to stay. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We preferred the main home for the character. It's a personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Many people skip St. Martin's as a place to stay or just take a day trip to the Sea Caves. We used St. Martin's as a base for our day trips to Hopewell Rocks and Bay of Fundy National Park. St. Martin's has its own charms with the sea caves (which you can enter and SHOULD NOT MISS at low tide), and eat the seafood chowder at the restaurant overlooking them. Remember that timing is everything, and due to similar tide schedules, you cannot attend everything in one day, though you should take high tide times to do The Fundy Trail overlook and hiking as it begins in St. Martin's.

We stayed 3 nights (2 together, 1 separate) at the Tidal Watch, where you can actually watch the beauty Bay of Fundy tides ebb and flow and view the Sea Caves from afar. We stayed at the Tidal Watch in a detached unit, which was very comfortable and lovely, with a whirlpool, coffee maker and electric fireplace! For breakfast, there is a choice of 3 great selections (I tried them all on separate days). Staff is pleasant and friendly. They give you a discount when you stay at least 3 days, so ask about that. But the BEST surprise was when I had booked a family unit in the main building to accommodate an extra guest for my last day, and due to low occupancy, we were upgraded. This was a wonderful way to spend our last night in Canada, as we felt like kings (or should I say 'queens').

The inn does overlook a private home (quiet, older couple) and there is a nearby campground (sound travels). I do believe the people below us could hear us move around because of something I overheard them say the next day. Only 2 rooms appear to have a balcony, as noted by another reviewer, but that is true of many other b and b and inns as well. As always, inquire and know whether a locale and quarters are what you want or not.

Room Tip: If you would like a balcony, be sure to ask for one of those rooms. Also, I would recommend a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulalois99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

There were positives and negatives. Breakfast was wonderful ,served by a very cheerful and energetic waitress.Staff were friendly.Room was clean. The negatives were that our credit card was charged prior to us arriving,we wished to pay cash but were told that the transaction had already been completed and that we could not pay cash. The most disappointing negative was that the room we booked was not the one we received. We booked the captain class room as advertised- queen size bed,sitting area,whirlpool spa bath and fireplace,balcony overlooking the bay and sea caves.After registering we were taken to a lovely room but it did not have a balcony or a view of the ocean.We explained what the website said and our expectations of a balcony with a view but were told that we had been upgraded to a king bed and there is actually only 2 rooms in the whole establishment that have a balcony and we did not get one. We could not change rooms as they were full.The person we talked to said he would let the owners know . We did not have a celing fan and were unable to use the air conditioner because the room above us air conditioner was dripping water into ours.It would appear that this was an issue for sometime as evidenced by the dirty towel covering the airconditioner outside.I guess it would be fair to assume that management felt it was doing something great for us by upgrading us to a king bed.Unfortunatley this is of no importance to us. We were missled to think we would have a balcony with a view where we could see,and smell the ocean.There are buidings infront of and beside these rooms that restrict your view from the windows. We looked into someones backyard. If you are looking for a romantic,quiet place to stay ,i would not suggest this. There appears not to be any insulation between the floors as we heard our neighbors walking- actually sounded like work boots above us.

Room Tip: Request upper level -bottom level very noisy Do not rely on website for correct discriptions of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasbound18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

we were stopping in St. Martins for one day and had reservations at Tidal Watch. The building on the outside is in GREAT need of painting. When checking in I was informed that there was a larger group there and we could not have breakfast until after 8:30am. This was a problem for our continuing plans. Our room had a 12x12 tv, and when we commented, were told it went along with the style of the room. There were no shades on the windows, so I guess its up at first light. The tub in the bathroom was 1/2 size(not useable for an adult.) When the owner brought another tv and I confronted him about the breakfast problem, He told us that if we were unhappy we could leave....which we did. He did give us a refund and we happily found a much nicer place.

Room Tip: find a different B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ct782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tidal Watch Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We're sorry this couple was not happy but pleased that someone else was able to make them happy. They booked our least expensive room that as a result has fewer features than others. When they checked in one of out staff told them that we have a group that will be eating breakfast at 8 AM, if they wished to have the same menu as the group they could come down at 8 AM but if they wished to order from our menu they could come down anytime after 8:30. The couple proceeded with check in. The couple then wished a larger television and other features not part of their room choice and after I provided them again complained about breakfast. I explained again that we have a group who are eating at 8 and they could have what they were having or wait to about 8:30 and order from our breakfast menu. All of our guests are important to us but this couple was not happy about anything thus far and it was clear that we would not be able to make them happy. I offered to refund their money if they wished to look elsewhere which they did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and i just returned from a wonderful trip to St Martins New Brunswick. We spent the last week at the Tidal Watch Inn with a group from Road Scholar(Elderhostel) We stayed in the Crown Prince, which had a view of the bay from the deck, a king size bed and a heart shaped jacuzzi tub. Kathy and her husband Rudy are wonderful hosts and made the stay more enjoyable. The food was very good. We enjoyed Mark, Sharon and Rebecca serving us our meals. Everybody we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful stay in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melindaTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Martins
20.2 mi away
Amsterdam Inn Quispamsis
Amsterdam Inn Quispamsis
#1 of 1 in Quispamsis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
23.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Salmon River B and B Ltd
Salmon River B and B Ltd
#2 of 4 in St. Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
11.8 mi away
Moore's Specialties
Moore's Specialties
#1 of 1 in Gardner Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hampton Bed & Breakfast
Hampton Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Watch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Watch Inn

Property: Tidal Watch Inn
Address: 16 Beach St, St. Martins, New Brunswick E5R 1C7, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > St. Martins
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidal Watch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tidal Watch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Watch Inn St. Martins, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing