We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

Anchorage Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Grand Manan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

A nice clean campground. There are hookups for trailers or more remote sites for tenters. The beach is great for walking. Long pond is a cool spot to have a picnic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Anchorage Provincial Park was very empty during our stay in August & we would like to see more people using it on a regular basis as it is truly a hidden gem. The bathrooms were clean, the grounds well maintained & the scenery spectacular. The camping sites for trailers are very open with many spots that are secluded around the edges of the park. Fire pits are located at each site & are built with cooking over an open fire in mind. The kitchen shelters are extremely useful as they provide a spot to wash dishes as well as cook & eat a meal during inclement weather. Beaches are close by & beautiful Our teenage boys were happy to stay on the island & the road into Anchorage provided the perfect spot for them to longboard. Not once did we hear "we are bored". That says it all!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great picnic and bon fire location”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We shared an anniversary party with family here and had a great location and party. Had a bon fire on the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longlac, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST Provincial Park”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been to a number of provincial parks, and have been consistently happy with them.

This wonderful park located on Grand Manan is the best by far.

The park itself is lovely and very well maintained. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers are hot and spacious. There is also a shelter area where people can go and use provided facilities to prepare meals and spend time.

The staff was also helpful and very approachable.

The real highlight here though, is the parks location. Grand Manan in general is one of Canada's hidden gems, but the the oceanfront located near to the park is particularly beautiful. Drive five minutes down the road to see amazing cliffs. Drive five minutes the other way and you will find a quaint village with great shops and food.

I cannot recommend this park and the island it is on enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank aa7hbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, nice walking trails”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Although we are Grand Manan residents, we take advantage of the Anchorage walking trails and beautiful beach as often as we can. Its woodland trail to Red Point, the walk along the ponds, and Rotary BBQs are all part of the allure of this clean, well-equipped park. Bring a picnic and enjoy the fresh air and beautiful, with no crowds!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travelgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Provincial Park also viewed

Grand Manan, New Brunswick
New Brunswick, Canada
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
 

Been to Anchorage Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing