We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting stop”

Roosevelt Campobello International Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk in the footsteps of the Roosevelts, visit Franklin's Beloved Island. The Summer Home of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. His 34-room cottage has been preserved as a museum telling the story of his early life before he became President of the United States. Preserved by the U.S. and Canada. Open daily through Canadian Labor Day. Free admission.
Hillsdale, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very interesting stop”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Beautifully maintained. grounds and building were immaculate. Surprised that two governments could work together so wel.l

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank williamb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    105
    23
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Tea with Eleanor"”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Roosevelt Campobello International Park on Campobello Island in New Brunswick Canada is
well worth a visit. The park is beautifully maintained with gorgeous flowers and plants!
It is so peaceful, serene, and beautifully landscaped - no wonder Franklin Roosevelt vacationed
on this island. A short 15 minute film is shown plus the house has the original canoe built for
Roosevelt by the Indians plus many other memorabilia. The house is a showpiece. Best of all was "Tea with Eleanor."
Tea and cookies are served while the hostesses (Violet and Carolyn) give such informative and entertaining talks on the life of Eleanor, who did such good in the world - She was way
before her time!
This was the highlight of our vacation!!!! Don't miss it! We will be returning!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wish I had more time to spend here”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I visited RCIP specifically to have "Tea with Eleanor". You have tea and cookies while learning about Eleanor Roosevelt's amazing life. It is only offered twice a day for a limited number of people and requires a (free) ticket. I highly recommend taking the time to do this. The "cottage" is the nicest "cottage" I've ever been in. We visited Mulholland Point lighthouse, drove most of the roads and walked through Eagle Hill bog (a great walk - bring insect repellant). If you are in the area this is definitely worth a stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First trip over the border did not disappoint!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had just a couple of hours to play in this breathtaking international park. It is so peaceful in this area. The grounds around the Roosevelt home are beautifully-manicured, but be sure you explore beyond just the home. Walk down to the water, drive along the roads a bit, take in the sights of the lighthouse.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenverCO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't Miss The Tea With Eleanor!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This park is such a gem! We spent the better part of the day exploring the park, trails, main house, visitor's center, and the "not to be missed" Tea with Eleanor where our hostesses shared wonderful stories and history about Eleanor Roosevelt and her experiences on Campobello Island. It was one of the highlights of this wonderful and unique park. Arrive early to make sure you get a ticket to the tea (which was free) b/c it is very popular. The tea and homemade cookies are nice, but the real gem are the stories and the hostesses!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Campobello International Park also viewed

Saint Andrews, New Brunswick
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 
Grand Manan, New Brunswick
Campobello Island, New Brunswick
 

Been to Roosevelt Campobello International Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing