We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Recognizable Big Red Cross on Lighthouse

Every light, fog horn and marker is different on each lighthouse. The day time marker on East... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
MariaP1779DE
,
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Campobello Island is amazing!

The hike to East Quoddy lighthouse is really exciting. You go up and down ladders that are... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Dale987
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 252 reviews
  
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
184
57
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
57
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews during low tide light house ocean floor east quoddy slippery rocks parking lot stairs are steep red cross fog horn warning signs worth the effort views are spectacular wear sturdy shoes rock island easternmost point parking area see whales
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every light, fog horn and marker is different on each lighthouse. The day time marker on East Quoddy is a big red cross, very recognizable as we passed by in our ferry.

Thank MariaP1779DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hike to East Quoddy lighthouse is really exciting. You go up and down ladders that are underwater during high tide. So, you must go during low tide. Obviously. It is a beautiful, not to be missed, lighthouse. Wear good shoes.

Thank Dale987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

While touring the island we visited this light house at the very end of the island. The views are breath taking. You should allow time to relax and enjoy.

Thank dlmoore305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We got there at low tide. We chosen to walk over but if it's your thing then do it. cost is $5 per person to walk over and $10 PP to walk up into the lighthouse.

2  Thank travelbychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Loved sitting on the coastline here and looking for whales, dolphins and seals and the occasional eagle, boats of all sizes too. As the tide was in, we didn't get to the lighthouse, but the point is worthy of a visit. The orange lichen on the rocks was beautiful. It's a 15-20 minute drive from the bridge end of the island, and there is abundant parking. From the east side of the point, you can see a fish farming operation--interesting.

Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We went there twice, first time we couldn't go to the lighthouse because tide was up. The 2nd time we did hike over. Very nice views

Thank jcmeierhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The views from Quoddy Lighthouse trails are second to none. We saw a pod of dolphins, seals, a whale and of course the spectacular views. There is also a bog there with a wooden trail throughout. This is the furthest north we have a visited in the state of Maine. Our adult children accompanied us and we had two grandchildren. Our 10 year old thought it was great. Loved climbing the rocks at low tide! Well worth the visit.

Thank SEL201754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

East Quoddy Lighthouse is at the farthest point out on Campobello Island. Allow about 15 minutes to drive there from the International Park (Roosevelt sites). The drive out is charming and goes through a number of nice coves. Once at the lighthouse, there are just a few small areas to view the lighthouse from. The lighthouse is sits on an island just across a channel and the view is very picturesque. There are picnic tables in the area great for a nice day. Sometimes seals can be seen playing in the water. Definitely worth the short drive.

Thank CTMans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We came to Campobello Island to take the Deer Island ferry. Once we found out that was not running this year, we knew we had a long drive to complete. Instead of coming to East Quoddy Lighthouse, we decided to just start our drive around into Canada. I was bummed that we were not able to come here. However, it was super foggy out that day, so we would not have had any views, as visibility would not have even been to the shore.

We were able to see it when we took a whale watching tour out of St. Andrews. It looked amazing from the water, and the fog had lifted. It was a gorgeous day, and the views were amazing. I can only imagine what the views would be like from the lighthouse. We saw so many whales in this area, that I bet you can see the whales and porpoises from shore. Some day I hope to be back, and for sure will get this checked off my list.

1  Thank BethWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

This is a gorgeous spot and well worth hiking up and down ladders and through rocks, sand and seaweed to reach the lighthouse. Make sure you go when the tide is low as there is no access at high tide. As an added bonus, we saw a number of whales spouting off the coast.

Thank purnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews