We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The One and Only”

Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family Fisheries restaurant Campobello Island serves the freshest seafood. Lobsters, clams, scallops, shrimp and more! Expertly prepared and served to your table. We also have dinners from the land as well as; appetizers, sandwiches, wraps, burgers and homemade desserts. Eat in or take out. You can also buy live lobsters and other fresh seafood from our market to take home. Open everyday..See you at Family Fisheries Campobello Island! Hours: (7 days a week) mid-April to mid-June 11:30-8:00 Atlantic mid-June to mid-September extended hrs 11:30-9:00 Atlantic mid-September to mid-October 11:30-8:00 Atlantic
upstate NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The One and Only”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If there has to be only one fish market/restaurant in your area, hope that it is a Family Fisheries.
No pretensions, no fancy displays and refrigerated cases, no hello my name is Brandon and I'll be your server . The fish comes off the boat, gets to the market, is cleaned and sold fresh or flash frozen for later sale (like when a species is out of season). They steam your lobsters perfectly and you can buy sides. Or eat there. We didn't but I went into the restaurant side, not knowing there was a separate door for the fish market, and it looked old fashioned and welcoming. We brought home lobsters twice, and one night had halibut (frozen) and scallop (fresh) that just melted in your mouth. I ate one of my lobsters at room temperature/cool and dipped each piece in some melted butter, and this PEI way with lobster really tastes much richer and fuller than when they're hot. Hooray to these hard working fishermen and the women who work in the market. We need more of this kind of simple approach to good fresh food and not another chain restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    84
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chamcook
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food was good, not great”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I too had the halibut special, and was a little disappointed in it. Properly done halibut is a real treat, but this didn't measure up. On the plus side, big portions and good value. The atmosphere in the restaurant is pretty minimal, and not too much natural light. Friendly service.

I was a little torn between giving this place 3 or 4 stars, but overall I don't think it warranted four stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiphias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not many choices on Campobello Island”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant the one night that we spent on Campbello Island. It's the only show in town, so to speak. I ordered the halibut special of the day. My companion ordered a burger. Service was great. The place has no liquor license but, for a fee, they'll open and pour your wine for you. The food was not too bad, but not real good either. Portions are generous, and prices are reasonable. My halibut was overcooked enough that it was dry. You shouldn't need a knife to eat properly prepared halibut, but I did. The mashed potatoes weren't very wonderful either. The meal, however, was adequate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great take-out”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stopped here while visiting Roosevelt Campobello Park. I needed to pick up some lunch on my way to Head Harbor Light and this place was right on the way. A small road side restaurant with eat in or take out options. I ordered a lobster roll with fries and slaw and the price was very reasonable. The roll was loaded with lobster and provided a very filling lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tine1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not fancy but first rate”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

for a road side stop, great food, good service and reasonable prices. Hard to beat combo. Bountiful portions. great lobster stew. great lobster roll, second only to Maine's No. 1 lobster roll. definitely looking forward to going back for seconds

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williamb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out also viewed

Campobello Island, New Brunswick
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 
Welshpool, Campobello Island
Welshpool, Campobello Island
 

Been to Family Fisheries Restaurant & Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing