We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charming Rustic Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fundy Highlands Motel & Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fundy Highlands Motel & Chalets
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alma
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Charming Rustic Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The chalets are rustic, but very clean and the location could not be more perfect - just inside the gates of the Bay of Fundy National Park. Pierre also gave us excellent recommendations for hikes in the park. The chalets are very well equipped.

We definite look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjbmillwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    72
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
119
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
jjlalumi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are looking for the convenience of a centrally located motel at Fundy National Park, Fundy Highlands Inn and Chalets is your destination. We recently stayed at this property for a couples getaway. There were eight of us and we rented four of the very quaint chalets. Arriving at our designated chalets we quickly noted the clever placement (groupings of six) of the chalets. This made our couples get away even better as we were all within a few feet of one another. Sharing meals and moving social activities between chalets was a breeze and it allowed us a great deal more privacy and with decreased risk of disturbing other hotel guests.

Check in was a breeze, and we were allowed to check in three hours early as the chalet that we were assigned was vacant. Huge bonus points there. When we got to the chalet we noted that it was extremely clean and had just about everything that we would need for the weekend. Fully stocked kitchenette, complete with paper towels, rubbish sacks, and coffee filters, all cups, plates, and utensils, made setting up camp a cinch. I also can't help but to comment on the water pressure. It was amazing. Not what I expected, and it was a pleasant surprise.

Another great attribute of the Fundy Highlands Inn is that it is pet friendly. All of the Bedsitter Chalets are pet friendly and only a small fee is charged per evening, per pet. As a result we were able to bring the family dogs with us which only added to the enjoyment of the vacation.

The owners of this property are pleasant, prompt and quick to address any needs you may have.

The only comment that I have is that the chalets, while well maintained, are starting to show some age. They are in need of sanding/stripping and a new coat of paint, and the drapes and bed clothes are showing their wear as well. The drapes had small holes in them such that when the moon shown thru it was as if we had our own little constellations on the wall.

Things to keep in mind if you are staying in the Chalets:

They are not expansive accommodations, and there are no closets. They are cute and cozy to every meaning of the words. With two adults and two dogs, space got tight, quickly. When planning to stay in the Chalets, I would recommend no more then 2-3 people in a unit even though many of them sleep four. Unless you are extremely close-knit people or you are travelers who travel extremely light, the quarters may feel cramped. Given the quaintness of the units, there is very little storage space, and the beds are low to the floor, eliminating any effective storage under the beds. While not a huge problem this did mean that we had to store our suitcases and supplies next to beds, under tables and in corners. We only stayed for a couple of days, but for folks taking a vacation for a week or more, the quarters may become tight, especially if it rains.

If you are traveling with children or pets (especially if rain is in the forecast) please ensure that you bring extra towels for drying feet/paws and mopping up the floors. There is a covered portion of the porch as you enter the Chalet, but even then things get wet. When you enter the chalets there is pace to act as an entryway, so when walk in your are right next to one of the two beds. In short, when it rains it is very difficult to keep the floors clean and dry. I recommend extra socks as well.

We found the chalets to be extremely quiet. Fantastic for a relaxing stay, but not so good if you are used to some type of noise when you sleep. It was so peaceful at our chalet, it was amazing, but at night the silence was deafening. If you are one of those restless sleepers who needs some white noise to put your mind to sleep, bring a fan or something with you. These units are quiet.

Lastly, While the chalets are fully stocked, depending on your personal level of "roughing it," I might suggest bringing your own towels and toilet paper. While sufficient, the washroom towels were on the thinner side, and they were not really bath towel sized. They did the job, but if you are used to something fluffy and warm when you get out of the shower, pack a few of your own. On the toilet paper front, let's just say that there are some luxuries that need to be considered even when "roughing it."

Over all a great place to stay, and we will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjlalumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in one of the bedsitter cabins. I promised myself I would write a review because I enjoyed our time here so much! The place is rustic, but that is expected in any small town. Though rustic, it was clean (and I'm picky). We cooked in both nights in the little kitchen which was perfect. The beds were comfy, the view was spectacular. We borrowed a DVD and watched in our cabin one night. We were greeted with a friendly smile and a map with suggested hiking trails. Nothing bad to say. It was a great bargain and I would stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBoBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fundy bay was the first stop in our 2,5 weeks long trip around the Maritimes. The Fundy Highlands Inn made the beginning of this journey even more special. The view is breathtaking. Everything is so serene. The motel units are comfortable and equipped with everything you need. The staff / owners are very friendly and clearly take pride in what they're doing. Good access to loads of trails and very close to the lovely village of Alma.
A fantastic place. To be highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed at Fundy Highlands Chalets for many years and use it as our " relaxing nature retreat" as we visit relatives. We are thrilled with the upgrades that Pierre and Anne Marie have made over the last few years. We just completed another rekaxing 3 day stay and were pleased with the free wifi in the chalets as well as the great selections of movies available from the front desk. The owners obviously take great pride in the business and want to continually upgrade their offerings. We like the rustic charm and silence, as well as the self catering aspect and our own kitchenette. The silence at night is wonderful as well as exploring the many nature trails in the Park itself. We certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet on higher ground with a view of the Bay of Fundy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HavnfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 night at the motel room, reasonable price for the area. Come with full kitchen, they have everything you need to make simple meal, even the paper towel.
The place is not fancy but clean and neat. Sitting at a hill at the entrance of Fundy National Park. every motel room has view, it was very foggy while we were there, couldn't see too far. We stayed at the lower floor, the door opens to a big backyard with some yard games and picnic tables.
The owner, Pierce is a nice guy, when we complaint about the internet is a little slow, he tried his best to solve the problem. Even the problem wasn't fixed, we knew he tried his best.

Great for family or hikers.

Room Tip: It was a little noisy the 2nd night by the other guests on the top floor, if you are light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great full-service chalet accommodation close to Alma and all the Fundy Park facilities. The Park's solar heated salt-water swimming pool was great, and the Park was a huge fitness centre for hiking and biking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
0.7 mi away
Parkland Village Inn
0.7 mi away
Captains Inn
Captains Inn
#2 of 5 in Alma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpine Motor Inn
Alpine Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Maplegrove Inn
The Maplegrove Inn
#1 of 2 in Riverside Albert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
23.8 mi away
Pinecone Motel
Pinecone Motel
#2 of 5 in Sussex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundy Highlands Motel & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundy Highlands Motel & Chalets

Property: Fundy Highlands Motel & Chalets
Address: 8714 Route 114 | Fundy National Park, Alma, New Brunswick E4V 4V3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Albert County > Alma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Alma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fundy Highlands has 20 motel efficiency studios and 24 cozy little chalets spread across 18 acres of natural mountainside overlooking the renowned Bay of Fundy, home to the highest tides in the world. Dog-friendly units are subject to availability (charges apply). Most guest units can accommodate up to four guests, and all have free wireless high speed Internet, a private washroom and well equipped kitchenette (stove top, small fridge, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, cookware and tableware). A magnificent panorama of the Bay of Fundy is open to you from the motel and many of the chalets. We offer various accommodations to suit your stay. Bed-sitting chalets (open concept) : two double beds. One-bedroom chalets : queen bed and futon. Motel-studios : double bed, twin bunk(s), and motel includes satellite TV. Our accommodations provide peace and quiet in a relaxing natural setting.Come discover the wonder of Fundy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fundy Highlands Inn And Chalets Hotel Alma
Fundy Highlands Hotel And Chalets
Fundy Highlands Alma
Fundy Highlands Motel & Chalets Alma, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing