We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliffside Suites
Nearby Hotels
Fundy Rocks Motel(Hopewell Cape)
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Pinecone Motel(Sussex)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Inn(Sussex)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sunshine Inn(Parrsboro)(Great Value!)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
116
25
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
25
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherring covehead suitefull kitchenfundy national parkbreakfast tableromantic getawaynew brunswicksmall kitchenliving roomwall of windowspeaceful placecomfortable king bedowners liveprivate entrancehave loved to have stayed longerlawn overlookingowners were friendly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 146 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family of 5 and the doodle enjoyed our 3 nights in the Owl's Head Cabin in Alma. This 3 bedroom cabin, one and one-half bath, has all of the amenities including a washer and dryer and dishwasher. While not air conditioned the cottage cools down very nicely in the evening and the breezes from the Bay of Fundy smell wonderful. The kitchen has everything that you will need, with all the basic utensils and everything you need to get at your lobster picked up from the lobstermen in Alma. Lots of deck space to relax, a bbq. and firepit with lots of split logs and kindling. We bought marshmellows, graham crackers and chocolate for s'mores but I couldn't find any matches. The kids made the s'mores in the microwave instead. Not as much fun but still tasty. Apparently the cottage is generally rented by the week and we were just lucky to be able to rent it for 3 nights. Alma was great fun, right at the gate to Bay of Fundy National Park with great hiking and biking in the Park. The tide in Alma is incredible with so much beach for the doodle to play on.
On check-in, we signed in and we were told that key was in the unit. We never saw anyone again until we went up to the main house to say we were leaving. On check-in the place was very tidy and there was helpful information in the welcome package.

For some reason Rogers doesn't work in Alma so no email from work for 3 days. That was a treat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Cliffside Suites is a great place. We stayed in Matthew's Head. The room was well decorated and modern. We had a deck with a table and bbq. The room also had a small kitchen (although we certainly didn't want to cook). Some of the reviews comment that the owners weren't friendly - while we only encountered them upon check in and out they were very pleasant. In fact, we appreciated that we felt isolated with no one bothering us. Another review commented on the fact that the place is a little hard to find. This is true, however I don't think this is any fault of the owners. It's the way the roads are set up - they kind of cross paths. It's a small place - ask any local and they'll help you out. Out of all the places we saw in Alma - I think this is by far the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubshan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Herring Cove suite which was wonderful. Like new, clean, modern interior. It had everything you would need for a night or week stay. Our bed was a king-first good night sleep I've had. The view outside our window was great-the low tide was incredible!!!
Now for the negatives-first off, the signage was terrible. There was a faded out sign on Rte 114 that said Offside-we had to backtrack because we missed it . Then the place had a sign, well off the road and it was covered with grass/bushes which again we missed. The WORST part was check-in. I rang the bell, a woman answered and I introduced myself. She didn't tell me her name nor welcome me. She told me where to park and if I had any questions ask her...she wasn't welcoming so going back to her took a bit of nerve.
I went back 2 times-to ask about where to buy food and to settle my bill since we were leaving early the next day. Upon checkout, she didn't thank us!!!
The location is great-next to Fundy coastal trail and the national park.

Room Tip: Buy your food (breakfast not included) in St John's or Moncton-in the village of Alma there are 2 convenience stores plus a fish store. We found 2 Bake shops and we got a freshly made sub and salad. the potato salad was so so but the sub was great!!! The sticky bun was great too.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fundy312, Owner at Cliffside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your response. We are eco-conscious and our signage is small wooden directional signs (fishing village theme) versus the large commercial & ugly ones. The signs are maintained by the business association. But we do agree with you that they are fairly faded, so I painted them upon receipt of your review. As for feeling unwelcome, this has us a bit dumbfounded. My wife is a chatter box and usually you have to excuse yourself to get away. I do so often! She remembers you well, as you had a long day of driving and were quite tired. I think you thought we were a B & B and served breakfast. You came to reception a few times, and she thought she had advised you well on where and what o do. In any case, she is sorry if you felt differently. Hoping your vacation in beautiful Fundy was a pleasant experience.
Ken & Laurette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed three nights at Cliffside, and experienced two different suites. Both were incredibly well appointed, clean and creative. Best of all, they both had spectacular views whether you sat inside or out on our private deck. Imagine, every day being able to watch the tides roll in and out from up high on a cliff, just outside of town, or watch the lobster boats going in and out of harbour, or even the fog tumbling over the nearby hills and a rainbow shortly after! Kitchenettes are very well equipped. Best advice is to buy your groceries (for snacks and any meals you'll want), before you get to Alma...much cheaper and definitely more variety. Getting fresh lobster from the tiny shops is so tempting every night, just add the sides and you're good to go! We did the sea kayaking in town and had a fabulous experience. Restaurants in town are few but delicious fresh entrees and appies with local products. Cliffside has been on our bucket list for two years, ever since seeing an ad for it...and it was truly a dream come true, just as lovely as the pictures indicated. There are few places in Canada with a better view and definitely not for this practical price limit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patti j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you, and the previous guests who submitted reviews of Cliffside. We truly love your feedback, and are heartened by your kind words. And better than that, it is the wonderful and interesting people we meet. It keeps us going!
Again, a big thank you for those who have posted comments.
Ken & Laurette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in the Mathews Head Suite in June 2012 and were delighted. The suite is spacious, very well furnished and was impeccably clean. The view of the bay out the large windows is awesome and very relaxing as you slowly note the rising and falling tides. The location is perfect for touring Fundy National Park, rapelling or zip-lining at Cape Enrage, and visiting Hopewell Rocks (less than 45 min away). Although the owners were out of town during our visit, the housekeeper was extremely welcoming, helpful, and available if needed (but since we had zero problems we never needed to call her). This is essentially a large house and the owners live above the three lower level suites. Since the owners were away, we never heard any noises above. The Mathews Head Suite is the middle suite on the lower level and was terrific. Only one of the two adjacent suites was occupied and we never heard our neighbors. Each suite has a parking space close to their private entry. There are two roads off the main highway in Alma that lead up to Bayview Drive. Both are paved and easy to drive (not too steep). The suite has a full kitchen great for making your own breakfast (this is not a B&B, breakfast is on your own). The two small groceries in Alma have the basics, but it's best to buy your non-perishable groceries before heading to Alma. Also, fill up your gas tank. The one small gas station in Alma is expensive. The suites have satellite TV and Wi-Fi so you can always connect with the outside world, but I suggest just relaxing in a chair looking out the window at the bay. Overall, this is a great place to stay and relax and enjoy the beauty of Fundy Bay, the adjacent National Park and nearby Hopewell Rocks.

Room Tip: The Mathews Head Suite was amazing!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews